Strange Mushrooms

in #nature6 years ago

20171126_165820.jpg

I found these odd mushrooms growing in several places on our timber floor. Does anyone have an idea what they might be? My guess is Puffball, but they didn't send a cloud of spores when I stepped on them like Puffballs are known to do.

Thank You!

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

Lucky you! Those are Giant Puffballs, Calvatia gigantea. There's nothing to confuse them with, once they get that big! You're also lucky that they are still solid inside. If they are all pure white, they are good to eat. They are too old to eat, if their insides are yellowish or any other color besides bright white. I cut them into 1-2-inch thick steaks, and then dredge them in an egg-wash and flour. And then fry them. So good!

I've heard that Puffballs are edible, but I've never tried them. Thanks for the input!

No idea. They are huge, if edible could feed a family of 4.

Huh, never seen any that Big.

Outstanding post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!

Oh It can be eatable ? 👀

Seems like it's something from Agaricus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06