PORTFOLIO / Discoveries whilst travelling India (by Photographer M. ANGUS)

in #nature7 years ago

Jumping Spider eating huge Mantis.jpg

Enjoy my collection of 10 macro images taken in India. I love macro photography, I love working with Arthropods particularly and I love the thrill of exploring these micro worlds and ecosystems. This jumping spider was feeling ambitious and successfully bagged a Mantis about 4 times his/her body mass.

Tiger Catipillar.jpg

This Tiger Caterpillar happily munched on a leaf as I gently held a coloured piece of paper behind to create the colourful background, as backgrounds in macro tend to fall to black.

IMG_7591.jpg

This jumping spider was happy to be photographed as it enjoy a tasty snack. If you look closely you can actually see me and my camera in the reflection of its eyes. Pretty sick if you ask me.

Dragon Fly Pupil.jpg

The compound eyes of a Dragon Fly are a wonder of the natural world, I believe the black part is the pupil. I call these the Terminators of the macro world.

Jumping Spider Side View.jpg

This Phintella sp jumping spider is unique because of it fluorescent colouring, used as camouflage.

Grasshopper.jpg

This Hopper has an expression of melancholy that intrigued me.

Mantis Body.jpg

I've shot hundreds of Mantis but I love how this one captures it's main internal organ, the Heart.

Blue Mystery Snail.jpg

A blue snail. Enough said.

IMG_8908.jpg

Not visible from this image, this Ant mimic jumping spider has evolved to look like an Ant. I choose this one due to it curious peek a boo nature.

Sawfly Larvae 2.jpg

By far my favourite critter I've ever found. This gentle Sawfly Larvae, in the forst few hours of it life, is gentle, exploratory and like something out of Science Fiction. You can find another blog post featuring video footage of this specimen further down my Steemit page.

I hope you enjoyed this collection, there will be more to come!

Follow, share and i'll follow back :)

Sort:  

Great shots i also love macro photography, im following cant wait to see more! Check out my work if you have a chance and let me know what you think

Glad you enjoyed them. Love the foxes on your feed. Keep on shooting, followed you too!

Excellent images, I know how challenging macro photography can be, waiting for a tiny critter to stay still requires a lot of patience. I've followed you and upvoted. Keep up the good work.

Hello my friend
Happy day .. nice this post
Beautiful photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44