Mini Vlog // The Grounding Practice of Thanking the Plants Around You

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


Alright guys… hear me out. One of the things I try to do at least once a day that really helps to keep me centered and grounded… is to stop to appreciate the plants around me. They provide so much beauty and life into our world.

For me, this practice has a couple benefits.

It is Meditative


The main reason why I like to do this, is because it makes me center all of my attention onto ONE thing… even if for a moment. This act of letting go of my big to-do list… and just looking at the plant or flower – and noticing it’s characteristics, helps settle the nervous system.

It’s a great way to build more moments of mindfulness into your day. I can literally feel stress melt off my shoulders the moment I do this.

It is a Reminder to be Grateful


There is something about stopping to appreciate something as small as the flowers in the grocery store, or the plant on your desk that can put life into perspective. It usually makes my current problems seem smaller and it reminds me to just stop, smile, and remember what really matters.

Nature Walks


My favorite way to implement this idea is to go for a walk, where my sole purpose is to really look at the trees, leaves and flowers that I am passing. I leave my phone at home, and just spend some time appreciating nature. Because I don’t always have time to go out for a specific walk like this every day – I try to build it into my daily routine where I stop to notice flowers and plants at various points in the day.

Give it a Try!


I hope you guys enjoyed this mini-vlog! I use these as a way to ask a thought provoking question that sparks debate, or (like today) to offer a small dose of inspiration or motivation.

I’d love to hear if anyone else does this? If you haven’t, but are thinking about trying it now – I’d love to hear that too!

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


Equipment Used in this Vlog


In order to add an extra layer of transparancy and value to my vlog's, I will be adding a list of equipment used at the bottom of each one! If you ever have questions about the gear I use, or how I use it - please don't hesitate to ask.

  • Camera – Iphone X
  • Video Editor – Imovie
  • Thumbnail Photo Editor – Snapseed

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

One of the key paths to happiness is gratitude, whether it be to plants or animals or gravity!

Allllll about those nature walks, girl. They give me life. I've never even thought about thanking the plants in my house, but I loovvvve it. ❤️ You and I have a lot in common. I'm gonna have to try to check out your stuff more often.

Yay you should try it!! It’s so calming. Glad to hear there’s another nature walk lover here! Hehe ♥️

We all need this kind of therapy to put things in perspective. Thanks for sharing,i will be adopting this practice.

Glad to hear it!!

Thanks to mother nature

Plants calm the senses. I could never live without plants in my house because they give me the feeling of freedom.

Sorry for my bad english.😅

best gerads
John B.

Couldn’t agree more! Plants make such a huge difference in our quality of life. Ps... your English was great!

Great video and yes I love to spend time in nature too and appreciate the beauty and life in everything. 😀

Sounds like you’ve got a great outlook. Thanks for the thoughtful response!

I am just like me. Mother nature lover.
Thanks for sharing

Glad you enjoyed this post! ♥️

I think you are on a path to view a truth about this world. The human race would never exist if plants never developed the structure of the flower. Man/woman have depended on the flower for every fruit we have eaten since the dawn of time. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Great perspective! I hadn’t thought about this topic from a more historical perspective.

Gratitude is a beautiful thing. Being grateful improves the quality of your wellbeing, emotionally and chemically. Getting into the habit of pausing for a moment each day and just being grateful for all that you have is powerful.
Also plants respond to positive attention, there have been countless studies where seeds have been talked to and shown positive attention versus those shown no attention and there is a much higher germination rate of those shown positive attention along with larger yields.
Not to mention what a great job plants do in filtering our air so we can keep breathing....
HELLLLOOOOO very important, we should show them some appreciation. 😉
Nature walks are very positive as well. I love walking along a forest stream.
That was a lot easier when I lived in the rainforest in Australia than it is now in the Desert of Las Vegas LOL 😂 🤣 😃

play a few Major Scales on your ukulele around your plants, they will grow and radiate more light. :)

Aww that’s a great idea!! I love that. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70