Blood Falls - Antarctica

in #nature7 years ago

Hello all, so today I'm going to be showing you one of the most magical but also terrifying places on earth. This is Blood Falls, in East Antarctica.

Firstly the red substance that you can see in the image above isn't real blood and no, this wasn't the crime scene to a violent massacre.
Secondly, this image isn't photo shopped, this place is 100% real and is a biological phenomenon. So, what is believed to have caused such a thing to occur.

According to google, the red color is from, 'an outflow of an iron oxide-tainted plume of saltwater.' If like me you don't know the first thing about science, then that won't mean much to you. Even so, I think it's a pretty cool place that I honestly wish was more accessible to go and visit.

I think sometimes I forget that this world is truly an incredible place. What with being stuck living in a mundane house in a mundane village, I and many others don't often get to witness such magnificent places. If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow me. I'm trying to reach 200 followers, so would be a great deal of help if you could help me out! Thanks so much for reading and as always, please resteem!

Sort:  

The color red is due to iron oxides precipitation when in contact with oxygen in the atmosphere; It happens there because it was first trapped in the glacier for like millions of year
Anyway yeah I agree that's terrific

Ah I see, clearly you know a lot more about this than me! Thanks for the info.

Top post - You will get to 500 followers in no time - just keep Steeming. Everyone is interested in Antarctica... show us more...
@blackrussian

Thanks so much, your comment really means a lot to me!

No worries, Just stating the Truth...

Interesting post *o *, I would like to know more amazing places :3 uv

Thanks, I'll probably do more similar posts in the future :)

I'd love to see them *-- *, I'll be waiting :3

Ah this is a great post Charlie!

Good post Charlie!! Love seeing different areas I have not traveled to. :-)

Thanks Alice, yeah totally agree - wish I could afford to travel more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64