You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Backyard edibles Acorns

in #nature7 years ago

Thanks for sharing your experience. I haven't tried it yet but I would try just to know I could if I had to. What did you make out of the acorns? I saw some recipes that didn't look too bad. I agree it would be a huge amount of work to process all the acorns.

Sort:  

I boiled them (to get the tannin out) and roasted them with salt. I never tried to dry them out and pound them into flour, which would have been even more work. The trick is to find acorns that don't have a lot of tannin. I boiled the shit out of those acorns but no matter how much I boiled them there was still tannin.

Cool I will probably try as an experiment when mine get ripe. What kind of acorns did you use? I believe mine are from a white oak. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Identifying different oak species is beyond my pay grade. All I know is that we have a lot of huge oaks around here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56