Black shouldered kite

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

The black shouldered kite is a fairly common bird of prey found all over southern Africa, they feed on mice and other small rodents, but above all they are beautiful and majestic birds!

image
Takeoff!

image
Off in a rush to go eat some mice!

Sort:  

This is one of the birds whose name the experts cannot keep the same. If was called White-tailed Kite, then the name changed to Black-shouldered Kite, and now is again named White-tailed Kite. All the same bird. Nice post.

Thanks, is not maby different names in different countries? This one I spotted in South Africa, and according to my bird books it is a black shouldered kite, but if I am wrong I am more than willing to correct and update my post before it becomes made uneditable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55