WHERE did all the grasshoppers go?

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

adb6c672-4be1-4c0f-a3f5-d3de8266d714.jpeg


When I was young, many moons ago, the grasshoppers would make waves of flight in front of me as I walked through the yard. There was so many, that at times it seemed they might block out the sun.

That has changed.

It is rare that I see even a single grasshopper. And, if I do, they are not the grand size that I remember. They seem smaller now. Maybe that is a distortion of memory somehow, like I was smaller and they seemed larger. But, I don't think so. I think all of the grand grasshoppers have gone. What is left behind is a miniaturized version of those of my youth.

But today, I did find a grasshopper. A single grasshopper.

I watched him for awhile, made friends with him. We played peekaboo as the time passed.

grasshopper1-01-01-01.jpg

And then, as quickly as he came, he was gone. He gave me one last stare just before he took flight, as if to ask...

grasshopper6-01.jpg

Where have all the grasshoppers gone?

All original photos taken with Samsung Galaxy S9+ fitted with my homemade macro lens recovered from an ancient donor Kodak Instachrome.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

nice shot. seems lots of critters are disappearing slowly. especially concerning are the bees😐

Every time I see a load of bees now, I rejoice!

I hear ya...

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow very very beautiful photography and wonderful.

Thanks buddy!

Posted using Partiko Android

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-20T18:43:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 383.50/200.00
Total Photos: 59
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Now that I think about it I haven't seen one of those mammoth grasshoppers since I lived down in the river valley, hotter and more humid down there, but it has been a long time since I saw one. Maybe the big ones are getting Monsantoed.

I think we may be past the getting, and we're at the GOT Monsantoed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51