In pursuit of wild edibles

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

While home at my parents house for a few weeks, I decided to go out in search of goose tongue greens. When I was growing up each summer the whole family would pack up the truck and head out to pick as many as possible. What are goose tongue greens? A salty, slightly bitter tasting wild edible that grows on salt marshes that in some ways resembles a thick blade of grass. The trick is to pick the smaller bladed greens as they are less bitter. 

I decided to search a new salt marsh close to a large mud flat, to see if I could catch a glimpse of any of the thousands of sandpipers that have migrated to the area to feast on mud shrimp. I was greatly rewarded as a flock several thousand strong flew around in impressive aerial acrobatics over the mud flat (though I did not have a camera with the necessary zoom to get a picture). Unfortunately, this adventure also lead to me falling in several ponds and soaking myself - but that is always part of the fun. Here are some pictures of the flats.

After wandering around for some time my scouting trip was greatly rewarded. I found a large patch of goose tongue greens, and another wild edible samphire greens. I forgot to take a picture of the plant on the ground, though in my update of todays picking I will take one. Here is a picture of the small amount I did pick for supper. 

The trick to these greens is to snip the blades between your thumb and finger as you pick them. This prevents uprooting the plant and thereby killing it. Also it saves work in cleaning the greens as they will not get covered in mud from the roots. After you get them home, just clean any dirt away, and pick out any grass that may have gotten mixed it. Then put in a pot with water and boil for 9-12 minutes, or until they are tender. Then strain and add butter and salt for a delicious treat. 


Edit: I double posted, I will just blame it that on the fact that I am new to the site. Moderators can feel free to delete one of them! 

Sort:  

I love this! I"ve always been interested int his kind of thing! Great post I can't see what else you find looking around. You live in a gorgeous area!!

Thanks! I messed this post up a bit, as the first picture did not load. I thought I had deleted this post when I re-posted the new one (newb). I thought you might like this picture as well!

Yes lots of free nutrition out there just waiting!

It really is beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22