In pursuit of wild edibles

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

While home at my parents house for a few weeks, I decided to go out in search of wild edibles on some nearby salt marshes. I was mainly searching goose tongue greens and the rarer samphire greens. They have become rare from people pulling them out of the ground with their roots, which over the long term diminishes the population. When I was growing up each summer the whole family would pack up the truck and head out to pick as many as possible. 

I decided to search a new salt marsh close to a large mud flat, to see if I could catch a glimpse of any of the thousands of sandpipers that have migrated to the area to feast on mud shrimp. I was greatly rewarded as a flock several thousand strong flew around in impressive aerial acrobatics over the mud flat (though I did not have a camera with the necessary zoom to get a picture). Unfortunately, this adventure also lead to me falling in several ponds and soaking myself - but that is always part of the fun. Here are some pictures of the flats.

After wandering around for some time my scouting trip was greatly rewarded. I found a large patch of goose tongue greens. What are goose tongue greens? A salty, slightly bitter tasting wild edible that grows on salt marshes that in some ways resembles a thick blade of grass. The trick is to pick the smaller bladed greens as they are less bitter. I forgot to take a picture of the plant on the ground, though in my update of todays picking I will take several. Here is a picture of the small amount I did pick for supper. 

Pick these greens between your thumb and finger. This will prevent uprooting the plant and thereby killing it. Another benefit is that it also saves work when it comes time to clean the greens as they will not get covered in mud from the roots. After you get them home, just clean any dirt away, and pick out any grass that may have gotten mixed it. Then put in a pot with water and boil for 9-12 minutes, or until they are tender. Then strain and add butter and salt for a delicious treat. 

Sort:  

Ooh, I've never heard of goose tongue greens before! What do they taste like - are they slimy?

Nope not at all! I would say they could range anywhere from firm to very tender just depending on how long you want to boil them, and how you like them. I tend to prefer them to still be a little firm, sort of al dente if you will!

For the taste it is sort of a slightly salty taste mixed with sort of a fresh "green" taste. Then of course come the tastes of butter and vinegar I love to add, haha.

That actually sounds pretty tasty! I love wildcrafting edibles, so thanks for sharing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70