Scuba Diving- A Human's Way to FlysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Getting Into Scuba Diving

I really only have my dad to thank for getting me into Scuba. He started diving when I was 14 and from the start pestered me to join him. As the cautious teenager I was, I could think of at least 1,000 reasons I didn't want to scuba dive but the only one that seemed to fend off my dad was a fear of sharks. He could argue any point I made until I said "But dad, sharks". So for over 2 years I watched, I listened and I learned. My dad got more and more obsessed, but after a couple months he gave up on pressuring me. I didn't share with him that I was truly curious and wanted to try it, but it always lingered in my mind.

Scuba Diving Certification

The certification class I ended up taking was 12 hours of classroom and pool work and an end test of 4 dives in Monterey, CA. My dad was training to be a Dive Master (the highest level of recreational scuba diving without being an instructor) at the time of my class so he was able to be a helper. Having him there through the process as a 16 year old was extremely helpful. I still remember him calming me down as I felt that 55 ° water make its way into my wetsuit and chill my spine. He was always there watching over me whenever I was doing a test like taking off my mask at 30 feet under the water. That weekend of the four certification dives was the most eye opening experience of my life. Seeing fish under the sea, seeing how big seaweed actually is, even just seeing sand 30 feet under water is breathtaking the first time.

Experiencing Diving

So far I have only had time to do 40 dives since I started, but I'm as hooked as can be. Every time I'm descending under the water, I feel as free as a bird. The flying feeling when you're completely buoyant in the water is probably the closest you can get besides skydiving. Some of the coolest things I've seen include 20 seals swimming all around me, an eel poking his head out of a hole as I looked in, and a sea otter pup playing with his mother only 10 feet away from me. I have only dived in Monterey, Catalina, San Diego, and Lake Tahoe but I look forward to experiencing this adventure for the rest of my life and seeing how many places I can go and how many dives I can rack up.

Don't forget to upvote and follow if you enjoyed this post!

Sort:  

Upvoted and following. I like the photos, thanks for sharing. @ironshield

Thank you, followed back!

Yes thank you .... I hope we support each other in developing the post ....

Hi dude, love the post! I have recently got back from a trip to south America where I did a lot of snorkeling - I now have the bug and really want get my dive certs! I must say though I am a little scared - like you say .... sharks :s

Exactly! But I fully recommend trying out Scuba, it's an amazing feeling down there! Thanks for the comment!

It's been about 40 years since I've done any diving...

That's a long time, I bet the set ups back then were a lot different!

I had only done snorkel but planning to learn scuba in the future, thats is so relaxing and amazing, thanks for sharing, followed

It really is an amazing time, would recommend it to anyone! Followed you back :)

My last dive is quite a while ago, several years, back in india .. but the feeling i will never forget .. and the world beneath the surface of the sea ... wow-y

Truly unbelievable, how was the water temperature in India?

Congratulations @brianm4! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Love this! Hope you can go again soon!

Thanks, so do I!

Great post.

I was lucky to have a dive a few years ago when on holiday in Greece. The feeling of flying was what I later reported to my family - you hit the nail on the head with that description

Thanks. It really is an amazing feeling, hard to describe other than flying!

Congratulations @brianm4! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75