LBJ's That Made My Day

in #nature6 years ago

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 145.JPG

When you look at the first picture above, it almost looks as if this 'not so brown' little bird is offended by my stereotypical post heading!

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 479.JPG

So let me rather say: Majestic LBJ's and other smaller wild birds that I happened to come across on the African Plains.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 490.JPG
But that did not mean that these little guys did not brighten up my day extremely, I mean, how could they not? Just look at them in all their splendor and allure!

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 002.JPG

Yet still, I would certainly not classify myself as a birder or birding expert (not even on a beginners level.), in fact my birding knowledge is actually shamelessly poor.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 008.JPG

But even though I can hardly tell these guys apart with a birding book in front of me, I have to say looking at these lovely birds out in the wild, somehow stirs something up inside of you.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 011.JPG

Almost as if they seed the urge to strive for your own freedom, while at the same time nourishes a smooth sense of tranquility & freedom.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 081.JPG

And Given South-Africa's vast selection traveling and indigenous bird-life, it is no wonder I am such a happy flower child.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 082.JPG

Are you a avid birdwatcher, or birding fundi? Well If you are and you would like to help me Identify some (or all) of these beautiful South-African ~maybe even international~ birds.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 147.JPG

As a little girl, I used to sit in my mothers lovely flower filled garden and look at all the birds that came and went; I remember thinking: 'I wonder how each and every feather knows exactly where to grow to fit into the next feather so perfectly, and how do they know which color they must be, so that they look exactly like like the other birds of the same type?'

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 233.JPG

Now that I think about it, I used to wonder a lot about birds as a small child.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 264.JPG

How do they find their way back to their homes because there are no roads for them to follow up in the sky?

And why to they not fall out of the tree when they fall asleep?

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 295.JPG

And now, here I am, an adult, and I am still immensely intrigued by these fantastic aviators that share our planet with us.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 339.JPG

Only now my thoughts are more focused on things such as their perfect design that enables them to fly.

Untitled.jpg

And their perfectly honed set of navigational skills, allowing them to travel great distances over oceans and continents.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 413.JPG

Maybe I never really got around to learning more about birds until now because subconsciously a tiny part of me wanted to hold on to these child like enigmas and mystery's - who knows?

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 457.JPG

Wouldn't it be great if we could all maintain our childlike wonder, fascination and innocence of the world that we once held so dear?

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 472.JPG

Did you have a strong fascination with something as a young child?

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 478.JPG

What were they? I would Love to know about it, so feel free to share it with me in the comment section below.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 490.JPG

These Birds were snapped by me in the South African Kruger National Park; Satara & Lower Sabie Camps and surrounds.

KNP Satara-Lower Sabi 2009 541.JPG

And with that I would love to wish all my Steemit followers & community members a brilliant weekend!

14793772283211174753240.jpg

Sort:  

A beautiful photography of beautiful place such a beautiful photography of nature

Thank you for the lovely compliment!

I think happy birds are a good omen. Seeing a bird you have never seen before ... who knows ... maybe luck is coming your way. I have never been to Africa but on my trip to Australia I was fascinated by the birds, so colorful and the kookaburra was a character. I understand where you are coming from:) Lovely post, Breezin:)

LOL well I could sure use some luck!
runs out to go find more birds
LOL
Yes most of ours aren't as colorful as those you are talking about - but they are still gorgeous to me!

Haha ... just don't stand right under the tree:):):)

hahaha, yes that would be my luck!

@jhoni is very happy to read @breezin beautiful birds, beautiful nature, thank you very much for sharing.

I am glad that you like it @jhoni

Nice photographs, the birds are cute, i also love their colors

Yes they are very nice!

We have a little green heron who visits the pond behind me each year, and your next-to-last photo above looks exactly like it. I don't know if yours is a green heron, but I do have a photo if you'd like to see.
I don't recognize any of those other birds at all, you do live in a fascinating place.

Despite the fact that it looks a lot more blue than green when you look at it in the sun, yes that is a little green heron - and yes I would love to see!

p.s - I have not forgotten about you, my mind is just two sandwiches short of a picnic right now...

Yes my green heron is quite blue, I caught it posing one day last summer and got a series of shots, the bird is a sort of clown it turns out: https://steemit.com/photography/@therealpaul/green-heron-poses-for-photos-then-tries-on-some-disguises

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99