My Bird Photos Part # 4: Cute Baby Owls 😍

in #nature6 years ago

Hey everyone!

I have been very busy lately but now it's time for part #4 of my bird photos.

As I promised, this one is very special.

My father-in-laws friend is a bird ringer and we got an opportunity that we couldn't turn down.

Baby owl bird ringing! 😍


DSCN2966 (2).JPG


I mean, I have always liked owls and to get to see them this close was something special that I will never forget!

The babies are Tawny owls/Brown owls (Strix aluco).

"Tawny owl is a stocky, medium-sized owl commonly found in woodlands across much of Eurasia. Its underparts are pale with dark streaks, and the upperparts are either brown or grey. Several of the eleven recognised subspecies have both variants. The nest is typically in a tree hole where it can protect its eggs and young against potential predators."
Source

If you wanna read more about them, click on the link!

You may wonder what is the purpose of ringing birds?

"Bird ringing or bird banding is the attachment of a small, individually numbered metal or plastic tag to the leg or wing of a wild bird to enable individual identification. This helps in keeping track of the movements of the bird and its life history. It is common to take measurements and examine conditions of feather molt, subcutaneous fat, age indications and sex during capture for ringing. The subsequent recapture or recovery of the bird can provide information on migration, longevity, mortality, population, territoriality, feeding behavior, and other aspects that are studied by ornithologists."
Source

For more information, click on the link!


DSCN2975 (2).JPG

DSCN2955 (2).JPG

DSCN2970 (2).JPG

DSCN2973 (2).JPG


There is always a small risk that the mama owl attacks bird ringers and because of this you should always wear a helmet.

This time we were lucky, and didn't get attacked! :)


Here is part # 1:
https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/animal-photography-contest-my-bird-photos-part-1


Here is part # 2:
https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/my-bird-photos-part-2


Here is part # 3:
https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/my-bird-photos-part-3


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!


Sort:  

Very nice bird. It is called by pecha in Bangladesh. Thanks for sharing your beautiful photograph.

Yep! :).Pecha, okay..cool! :)

Oh man, they are so sweet :)) I haven´t seen a baby owl yet I think.

Yep, they are very adorable! :)

These babies are adorable. I am amazed at their color, it blends in so well with the bark of the trees.

Yes, they are very special creatures! :)

Baby owls are the cutest!

Absolutely! :)

Really cute baby owls! It's great to see them closely! Thanks so much for providing more information about them, very interesting! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72