Devil's Field

in #nature6 years ago

Hey all!

Yesterday, I went for a bike ride.

I had no plans where to go, but suddenly I remembered a place that I haven't visited in a while.

It's a place with a lot of small round stones and is called "Pirunpelto" in Finnish and in Swedish "Djävulsåker".

In English it means "Devil's field". I'm not sure if that's the right translation but something like that.

I have also heard that it can be called "Stenåker" (in Swedish) which means "Stone field" in English.

IMG_20180722_142412.jpg

So how did the stones end up here?

A long time ago there was a beach at this place, and the stones were collected by the ice (during ice age) and formed by running waters and waves.

Later the sea water level dropped, and that's why you can find these stone fields far above sea level.

IMG_20180722_142348.jpg

You may wonder why it's called "Devil's field"?

It comes from old folk beliefs, they thought that the devil had collected all the stones in one place!

Who knows? Maybe it's true! ;)

IMG_20180722_142447.jpg

IMG_20180722_142358.jpg

On my way back home, I found some dead animals, a slow worm and a grass snake :(.

We have had very dry weather for a long time here in Finland recently.

I don't know if that's the reason why they have died?

Slow worm
IMG_20180722_142249.jpg
Grass snake
IMG_20180722_142956.jpg


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!


Sort:  

I have never seen a stenåker before. I can imagine back in the days people must have wondered how it came about. It’s very beautiful though and almost look a bit like a Japanese stone garden

I had to google "japanese stone garden". You are right! :)

Devil is so mad, so he want plow this kind of fields :)

Maybee! ;)

thanks buddy @borran for a nice place to sharing with us...place is beautiful

Interesting stones! The snakes both look like they were killed, especially the slow worm. The heat wouldn't have killed them, just made them more active and more likely to meet harm

Okay! :)...That makes sense! But the grass snake looked so unharmed. At first I thought it was alive! :)

Beautiful snake skin 😢

Amazing place - «Djävulsåker».
I've never heard of him.
Thank you for telling me!
Something mystical and mysterious.
You weren't afraid to walk there, @borran?

Cycling through the major stones, and probably very difficult to ride!

Living beings apparently there is no, only dead.
So, definitely the devil's tricks ))

No I wasn't! :P..I have been there many times!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82