Spidey Came Out To Play!

in #nature6 years ago

IMG_1028.JPG

Spidey the 3rd is the spider that resides right outside the living room window. She spins her web some time during the Summer right in the corner of the woodwork bar. It's a great place to catch a lot of food. The more the catches, the more she eats; the more she eats, the bigger she grows. Kind of like the Haunted Spider from Steem Monsters. (See what I did just there?)

IMG_1015.JPG

Spidey's grandmother had spun her web closer to the door and it was too close for our liking. Frank had removed the web, which had shocked me, because she wasn't bothering me outside, but the Spidey family got the message. I mean, I suppose it's okay, they don't speak human languages, and the very next day, the web was at the other end. So now it's the third Autumn we're at this house and the Spideys spin their web on the other side.

IMG_1021.JPG

I was having fun taking pictures with my Canon Powershot SX730 HS, obviously. I guess Spidey understood what I was doing. I got closer for some neat shots and I asked her to give me her best pose and to smile for the picture.

IMG_1023.JPG

Next thing I know, she's out of her little alcove and striking a pose all right, standing tall on her web, her shadow making her look imposing. I'm sure she understood that this was her moment to shine. And with the outside lights on at the time, shine she did.

IMG_1028.JPG

You see, especailly around Halloween time, spiders are out and about, many are in the house. But when they don't intrude on my territory and when I give them a personality, they seem a lot less scary. But I must admit that that close ups does creep me out a bit. Spidey is one big and impressive spider. I'm glad she lives outside. We mutually respect each other's territory, we acknowledge her when she sticks her head out, and we check up on her when she's hiding and say "hello" walking by. She's a part of the garden now and she guards the front of the house. She's our guard-spider :p

Sort:  

Aaah !!! COOL spider pictures :D I love them :) Creepy, too, but really cool :)

I ... might be biased, but I am glad that you're making her your guard-spider instead of killing her :D :D :D

Biases aren't always a bad thing ;)

I like the name, by the way. I've had a look at your page. You've got some pretty neat art there. Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75