Australia's Migaloo - The original White Whale

in #nature7 years ago

The original white whale "Migaloo" is predicted to pass by the Gold Coast on his Northern migration journey.

miggc.jpg

This Australian icon was first spotted off the coast of Byron Bay in 1991 and named for the First Australians term to describe "A White Fella". At the time of his discovery, Migaloo was the only documented sighting of an all white humpback whale anywhere in the world.

Migaloo.jpg
"Migaloo" with the iconic Gold Coast coastline in the background on a previous migration

I will have the camera at the ready when I pull on the wetsuit tomorrow morning just in case I get a glimpse of this majestic wonder of nature.

Stay stoked Frothers,

Fish

Sort:  

Oh my gosh thats so cool!! So did you see Migaloo??

Hey, Jen. No, unfortunately. But my friend swears she spotted him pretty close to the coastline.

The surf has been flat so I'm not spending my usual amount of time at the beach. But there is a swell coming in tomorrow so I'm stoked!

How are things with you?

Fish

Oh its been a busy past few days :) just work and then summertime activities (cus here it is summertime haha)... your friend is lucky, I hope she actually did spot him! And I hope you've been doing well and that you went to the beach the other day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42