How To Identify Poison Ivy

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Poison ivy... just the mention of it can make a person itch.  However, learning how to identify poison ivy will enable you to avoid it and the nasty consequences of unknowingly coming into contact with it.

As you can see in the pictures below, poison ivy has three leaves with one that has a jagged edge on it.  This is the distinguishing characteristic of this nuisance vine.

As you can see from these photos, poison ivy has three distinguishable leaves on each stem.

Study these pictures and you will be able to avoid the negative consequences that come from coming into contact with a broken poison ivy vine.

If you found this post useful, please upvote and follow me @backrdadventures!

Sort:  

Very helpful post! I know the basics of avoiding poison ivy but it's always wise to glance at a few pictures as a reminder when we're in the midst of outdoor season!

Thank you! I'm glad I could help someone avoid getting an itchy rash!

I had one run in with poison ivy and NEVER again. The worst discomfort!
I am more careful and pay better attention when I walk through the back of our property.

Poison ivy is definitely not fun to deal with!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81