Thinking about Trees (Train Of Thought)

in #nature6 years ago

The other day I was sitting in the grass, losing myself in thought. I started to look for things that might entertain me. I scanned my surroundings, and started looking at a nearby tree. I looked at the rugged trunk, and all of the individual pieces of bark. As I moved my line of sight up, I saw the many branches protruding out of the trunk. I followed one branch, to the next, and watched as each branch separated into two or three smaller twigs. I followed those to the end, and the leaves that they carried. I did this many times, following a branch, to the next, to the next, to the twigs, and finally to the leaves they carry. I looked back down at the trunk, and noticed many ants and other small insects crawling in between each small section of bark. This carried me to thinking about the complexity of every tree around me, and the small ecosystems that each one drives further pushing my appreciation for trees and nature in general. In that moment I finally understood all of the artwork focused around trees, and one photo in particular that displays a large psychedelic-looking tree, sprawling it's intricate branches across my monitor which I have not been able to locate again.

tree_of_life_by_christinaprice-d3l0gp4.jpg
(Photo by ChristinaPrice, https://christinaprice.deviantart.com/art/Tree-of-life-216692104)

Thank you for reading this odd and out of nowhere post. Just seemed like a nice place to jot my thoughts down.

Sort:  

Congratulations @augenweide! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @augenweide! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68