A Bee doing what a Bee doessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago

Photos and videos of nature tend to bore the arse off me


Not the nature bit - hell, the natural world blows my tiny mind and David Attenborough is a hero - but I'm talking about the very average constant stream of photos you see on, say, Instagram about nature that bore the arse off me.

BUT. Today I'm a going to be a massive hypocrite and be one of those people who posts a very average thing about nature.

Why am I telling you this?

So, whilst on a family day out today at Oakwell Hall in Birstall, Yorkshire (a 17th Century Manor House garden / gift shop) I used my wife's new phone (iPhone 5se) to play around with the slo-mo video function.

Now, my own iPhone 5 is such an outdated brick that is doesn't do the bells and whistles of slo-mo video. It barely turns on.
But it does still make phone calls, which is why I keep it around.

I was blown away by how good the slow-motion video actually performed on the phone in a real life setting. It was a total revelation. Granted it's on 568 x 320 resolution, but it's ace.

So here it is. I took this short clip of a bee, doing what bees do best: Being a Bee.

And I wanted to share it.

So there you go; an average video, taken on a great phone about that amazing thing we call nature. Well, a Bee.

Sort:  

This is intriguing. Not just the bee but also the way the flower seems to respond to it. Awesome slowmo sound too, haha!

Sorry ( not sorry ) for posting on stones, today. At least it's connected to my filmmaking ;>)

Earlier this afternoon, I sat down in the grass for a while. In the huge, terraced garden of my twin sister, here in Portugal. A little fly landed on my arm and walked around while putting it's little fly tongue on different areas of my body, over and over again. Possibly feeding on my sweat, salt. Instead of killing the fly or swapping it away, I decided to actually look at it, as closely as possible. It wasn't bothering me and quite an intriguing sight. I don't have slowmo or binocular eyes but even then, it intrigued me.

I guess - us creatives - are always able to see the extraordinary into the ordinary, with or without a camera.

Have a great day!

That's a really interesting observation of the flower moving with the bee. I didn't really see that on first view!

The sound was actually tweaked a little, as I added at 'Notch Filter' effect with the 'dreamy' pre-set. Just makes things sound a little more harmonious :)

Stones and film work is interesting. I like how you really embrace and consider the feel and tone of things in preparation of your film.

That's a really interesting observation of the flower moving with the bee. I didn't really see that on first view!

Let's say that I'm a visually oriented person.
Although, as mentioned by you - and you can notice by reading my posts - feel and tone are also extremely important to me. Let's say that I'm just hypersensitive and I'm trying to use that sensitivity to my advantage, wherever I can, these days.

Thanks for the support. Much appreciated! :>)

It is crazy how good the camera is considering how it’s still not a ‘new’ phone!
You had great patience to get the shot. All the bug hunting that our boy has taken you on has paid off!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86