TAME YOUR PIGEON!!!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

So you have pigeons and you want to tame them? No worries bruh.This brother of yours is right behind you.I'll share two methods of taming your birds.I myself am a pigeon lover and I am using these two methods on my two different pigeons.
I'll advance step by step.These two methods are:
1.Quick but risky way
2.Long way and safer way
459405241.jpg
Before I begin, let me inform you that both of these methods require a lot of LOVE for your pigeons from you.Okay then,

QUICK BUT RISKY WAY:
There are two sub methods:

  1. For baby birds/pigeons
  2. For adult birds/pigeons

1.Baby pigeons: To be honest, baby pigeons are the easiest to tame.What you have to do is feed the baby chick every hour on your lap just like their parents and in two or three days, it will recognize you as it's parent and will start to trust you.And of course by baby pigeons, I mean babies like this:

Baby chicks are so innocent that they would trust anyone who shows love for them.Sounds like an easy task? Nope.It's not as easy as it sounds.You need to be extra cautious while hand feeding baby birds.Their internal and external organs are very sensitive.It's kind of complicated to feed then with your hands.You can use bottle or syringe to feed.

Some people feed baby pigeons seeds that adult pigeons eat.But know that, they are just babies and their digesting system is not developed as adult pigeons.So try giving them baby food that are sold at market specially for baby birds.

2.For adult birds: This may sound cruel but try to irritate your pigeon if it's not aggressive.Because normally pigeons will be afraid of you.But aggressive pigeons are not afraid of anything and are easy to tame.What you need to do is simply keep touching them and pretend as you are afraid.If they believe that you are afraid of them, they won't be afraid of you anymore.No worries, I will upload a video on dtube to prove that it actually works.Then try take some seeds on your hand and feed them on your hand.Once you are sure that they are not scared of you anymore, start acting normal.They will peak you, hit you with their wings.Act as if it doesn't matter.keep feeding them on your hand and make it their their habit.At some point, they will start climbing on your hands, shoulders and head.

Be still and make no sudden move or noise.They will examine you and in a few days They will be ready to be tamed.Pick a sound that you want to use to call them to you.

Yeah, any sound will work.In morning, when you feed them, take some seeds on your hand throw some on the ground and use that sound to call them to feed the seeds.Very soon, they will memorize that sound and will come to you every time you call them.Then you can start teaching them the commands just like this.At my present, my pigeon comes on my lap when I am sitting and response to my callings.Now the question is why this is risky?Like I said, irritate them a little so that they can overcome their fear.But if you over do it, they might get irritated big time and may never listen to your commands.

LONG WAY:
This method is the test of patience.First thing you need to do is nothing.Just observe them.Don't interfere with their schedule.In a week or two, they will recognize you as their owner but won't respond to your calling just yet.When you are sure that they feel safe around you, start their training for taming.In morning when they are hungry, take some seeds on your plum and try to feed them on your hand.No need to rush.They will approach to you very slowly and cautiously.Don't make any sudden movements or noises.If you do, they will think that you are trying to capture them and they will run away.Keep putting enough seeds and water into the feeder and water pot.And yeah, don't forget to do different sounds while doing different activities.This will help your pigeon to specify what actually want them to do.Like make a sound while feeding them, make different sound while calling them, make another while putting them back in the cage or loft.My pigeons gets into their cages when they see me touching cage's door or pointing at it.So, I don't have make sound at all :p.

Anyway, good luck with your birds.Remember, they are not just pets, they more like family.If you love them, they will love you three times more than you do.
[note: I do not own these pictures.They are taken from different resources :D]

Sort:  

I had no idea that pigeons could be tamed like this. I always think of them as sky rats!

Thanks to @ecoinstant, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I guess we have many things to learn.Right, Sir?

Hello @ashraful1998! I enjoyed your article, and I commend you for mentioning that the pictures were taken from different sources! It is important that we include those sources here in our articles - I do it like this -> [ Image Source ] ( link2image.com )

thank you for your kind advise :D.I will specifically write the links of sources from the future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44