SHARKS!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Family,

Today, I bring you, Sharks! aka Jaws, The Meg, Sharkando...
_MG_9642l.jpg

I am back and ready to share what I have been working on this week. I payed a visit to the Odyssey Aquarium in Scottsdale, AZ, a few weeks back and I focused on sharks! These creatures have a bad rep, and Hollywood doesn't seem too interested in sharing the good side of these creatures any time soon.

With horror, and sometimes horrible movies (Sharknado), such as Jaws, Shark Attack, and most recently The Meg, Hollywood tries it's best at keeping us afraid of these gentle creatures (kidding) some are gentle that's true, whale shark for example. But some sharks such as the bull shark or the great white, are probably best left alone, and respected (I surely respect their sharp teeth).

Here are the good news, most of the sharks I photographed are pretty harmless or pretty full to bother with us even if they were feeling a little bittey. Also, there's no need to worry about sharks when you go to the beach. If you are in the water and a shark wants a piece of you, well, you won't even see it coming.

Contrary to popular belief, and once again, contrary to most Hollywood stories, sharks don't circle around their prey so close to the surface that you can see their top fin, nope, you won't even know what hit you (well, eventually you will but it may be a tad too late). The point is, there's no need to go swimming and worry yourself with looking for that top fin. So if you go in the ocean, just enjoy it and try to go where sharks don't (my personal opinion).

_MG_9629j.jpg

To recap, don't worry about sharks, most don't care to eat us, and are pretty amazing to look at and some will even allow you to dive with them. Sharks are not out to get us, but still be cautious as to where you chose to go surfing or swimming. Most importantly, sharks are super cool and super in ;)

Enough of my blabbering for now, here are some of the photos I captured during this trip. Some are pretty cool, some are pretty funky. Some are sharks, but not all. I also included some stingrays and other fish that captured my attention during this trip. I hope you enjoy this set of photos. Thank you for stopping by :)

_MG_9685xs.jpg
These look like a pair of Sand Tiger Sharks, a Lemon Shark and if you look closely towards the back, a Nurse Shark seems to be resting on the sand. Neither one of these sharks is known to be aggressive towards humans.

_MG_9638.jpg
Sand Tiger Shark. A face, only a mother could love ;)

_MG_9651.jpg
Sand Tiger Sharks look intimidating, but they are not aggressive towards humans at all (at least not that I know ;)

_MG_9676.jpg

The following photos could fall under the category of "Shark Food", however, we will be nice and call them "Shark Friends."

_MG_8875.jpg
White Stingray (juvenile)

_MG_9344.jpg
Spotted Ray (huge)

_MG_9403b.jpg
Spotted Ray looking for a snack in the sand ❤️

_MG_9500.jpg
Lion Fish
The Lion Fish is consider an invasive species of fish, which threatens reefs all over the world since its introduction into the ocean waters from its original habitat in Asia. It's known as the king of the reef, it can even intimidate sharks! It can consume up to 70 different other species. These crazy invaders are becoming a huge problem for biodiversity. Oh yes, and did I mention it stings as well. What a cutie huh? :(

_MG_9517.jpg
Angry Looking Fish AKA Angry Looking Shark Food

_MG_9533.jpg
Isn't this fish just adorable?! I just want to hug him and take him home! (well, no, not really).

_MG_9565.jpg
My favorite adorbs fish (I said adorbs ) ❤️

_MG_9562.jpg
Just look at those eyes! He looks like he’s about to burst into tears if you don’t pet him (but please don’t, they don’t actually like humans at all)

_MG_9560.jpg
Last one of this little guy ;)

_MG_9576xb.jpg
Fish aka More Shark Food ;)

_MG_9595.jpg
More adorable fishes ❤️

_MG_9625.jpg
Jellyfish

_MG_9609.jpg
Beautiful Horned Cowfish

_MG_9622.jpg
This fish is just something special, white polka dots on bright yellow. The Horned Cowfish is a treat for the eyes!

_MG_9607.jpg
The Horned Cowfish is also known as the Horned Boxfish.

_MG_9700.jpg
Lastly, more shark food. Lots of it ;)

_MG_9687.jpg
The Sharks! NOM NOM NOM

I hope that you enjoyed this set of photos as much as I enjoyed taking them. Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my posts! :)

_MG_9332p.jpg
I tried to create a sharknado ;)

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind comment 🙏☺️

Underwater World Beautiful

Thank you, I appreciate your comment very much 🙏☺️

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Thank you 🙏 ❤️

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-14T09:19:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 156.00/200.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I still can't believe Sharknado was so popular.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76