Arizona Desert - Monsoon Season - Sand Storms, Thunder Storms and Dust Devils

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0147.jpg

Arizona Desert
IMG_9819.jpg

The Monsoon season is upon us Arizonan desert dwelling creatures, and I wanted to share images of what that means for us here. During these past few weeks of intense, face melting heat, we have been hit with several dust storms, thunder storms, and lots of rain, which sometimes can and often turn into dangerous flash floods. For many, specially those with pools, this weather phenomenon is an inconvenience, but not for me. I love the monsoon season, and anything other than super hot sunny days.

Monsoon season is often thought of as summer rain storms, however, it is not the rains but rather the wind pattern that bring those rains. So far, I haven't been able to capture the thunderstorms in action as they have been happening mostly during the night or I'm not able to go out and capture the moment. I do however, have photos of some of the other weather phenomenon that these summer winds bring. I will add more photos as I am able to capture them to either this post or a new one.

Thank you for stopping by!

IMG_0105.jpg
Arizona Desert Sand Storms
IMG_9930.jpg
We have been getting sand storms almost daily during the month of August.
IMG_9914.jpg

IMG_9841.jpg

IMG_9840.jpg

IMG_9916.jpg

IMG_0096.jpg

IMG_9839b.jpg

IMG_9929.jpg

Dust Devils (Whirlwind)
IMG_0246c.jpg

IMG_9856.jpg

A dust devil or whirlwind is different from a dust storm. The dust devil is a vertically oriented rotating column of wind. The shape looks similar to a tornado but they are usually harmless and much smaller.
IMG_9844.jpg

IMG_9862.jpg

IMG_9845.jpg

Here in the Arizona desert, we get several of these daily during these hot days. I love seeing dust devils, and taking photos of them, except when I get caught in one and end up with sand all over myself.
IMG_9878.jpg

IMG_9846.jpg

IMG_0249c.jpg

IMG_9847.jpg

*Some of these photos were taken with my smartphone iPhone X

IMG_0070.jpg

This is what a sand storm looks like from my neighborhood.
IMG_9756s.jpg

Both camera and I, ended up well dusted after taking these photos.
IMG_9728.jpg

After the dust, the rain follows (most of the time nowadays). Rain, my favorite part!
IMG_9800.jpg

It has rained so much and so often this year, that puddles have formed. There is also so much green all over the desert and random wild flowers growing throughout the place. There's no doubt that the monsoon rains have transformed the desert this year.
IMG_9811.jpg

IMG_9832t.jpg

IMG_0013.jpg

IMG_9817.jpg

IMG_9814.jpg

IMG_9812.jpg

I love all the different colors, it's a sort of desert fall season almost. Lots of yellow, orange, and red in addition to the bright green that the monsoon rains brought. Here are some photos of how what the desert looks like now thanks to the monsoon rains.

IMG_9889.jpg

IMG_9888k.jpg

IMG_0022.jpg
There are so many of these small weed like plants growing all over the desert grounds. I have no idea what they are except that they were not here before the rains. I also didn't see these plants last year, but I believe we have had more rain this year than in previous years. The increment in rain would explain the amount of these plants we see this year.

IMG_9814x.jpg

IMG_9883.jpg

IMG_9868.jpg

IMG_9872.jpg

IMG_9886.jpg

IMG_9813h.jpg

Random photos I took while gathering material for this set.

IMG_9864.jpg

IMG_9904bc.jpg

IMG_9912.jpg

IMG_9906.jpg

IMG_9901.jpg

The glass is what is left of accidents and other unfortunate events. I feel that there's beauty in these glass pieces and a sad story behind them all. Beauty truly hides in every corner.
IMG_9908bi.jpg

RIP
IMG_0095.jpg
I decided to capture this moment that I came across while taking photos for this post. This photo represents a delicate subject, but I find all aspects of life and death beautiful, and worthy of being captured and shared. I hope that you can appreciate it as I have.

IMG_0145.jpg

I hope that you enjoyed this set of desert photos. Thank you for stopping by and reading my posts!
IMG_0074.jpg
:)

Sort:  

Oh, the Desert. My heart, and I.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Thank you! Not much of a garden but beautiful nevertheless ;)

You got a 26.29% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @alexandered! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

Thank you so very much for stopping by and liking my post :)

You got a 19.05% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @alexandered!

THANK YOU!!! <3

Thank you for your sweet comment, I'm glad you liked it :)

Hello very nice photos!!with the iphone x!!!i like the photos of the dust devils it looks pretty cool i didnt know it existed i will definitely thought it was a tornado lol:)

Thank you so much for your kind comment! That’s exactly why I like dust devils, they are like mini tornadoes but without the damage ;)

Just wooow! :-) well deserved up. I can imagine how much effort and time you spend in this awesome post with the fantastic photos!

Hard to believe that some photos are taken with a smartphone, because of the great quality :-)

And tt must had been a unique experience in this deserted location, so thanks for sharing with us.

Thank you so very much for your kind words ☺️🙏 I’m glad to have made a post worthy of interest ☺️

I passed through Sedona, Flagstaff, around this time of year two years ago.

Your photos have a slightly different look/feel compared to the parts of AZ I drove through. I guess if I could pin it down, that area looks flatter and drier than the route I took from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon.

I enjoyed your pictures, makes me want to visit that part of the country again if I get a chance!

Hi Kadoka!

Sedona and Flagstaff are what we considered "high desert" and much less "deserty" if that makes sense. We are a bit more south and the desert here is much drier, has a lot less vegetation and you are right, it's much much flatter. I find all the dried up stuff here very beautiful but this desert's heat is surely unforgiving. Las Vegas, depending on where you go is also a nicer type of desert. However, there are some neat places to visit here for sure (dunes for example), this desert does have it's own unique charm and lots of things to offer for those that can appreciate it. I can share some places to visit whenever you are ready. Thank you for stopping by and thank you for your comment :)

Love how you always find so interesting things to post. Great capture of storm. I am too afraid to go out and shoot during these times. I always feel i might damage my camera haha.
Btw i loved the 4th pic from the beginning so much.

Thank you for your comment! You are wiser than I for sure, I ruined one lens already thanks to a dust storm :( Well, it got a scratch and so I think it's ruined. It's worth it though. The only thing that I'm still not brave enough to capture is lightning in the middle of the desert, at night (but I want to, sooooo bad!). Thank you for stopping by :) I truly appreciate it!

Hi arosebunch,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

THANK YOU SOOOOOO MUCH! @curie I would never, ever get more than a handful of votes if it wasn't for you all. I truly appreciate it and I try to support what you do as much as I can. THANK YOU!!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

i wanna go there & take photos. good photography.
Please vote to my photos also in my blog & follow me. thank you.

Thank you very much for stopping by and liking my content! :) I will definitely go check out yours!

Beautiful view...
Amazing photography..

Thank you so much for your kind comment 🙏☺️

good pictures. nice place for photography.
Please vote photos also in my blog. thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98