A Visit to El Golfo in the Sea of Cortez

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5714.jpg
(Pelican flying right above the water)

El Golfo is a beach town in Mexico which I have been visiting every summer since I can remember (without going into too much detail about my age, lets say, I have been visiting for many years but not too many ;). I have fond memories of this place, the seashell covered beach, all the treasures I would find in the tidal pools, there was never a lack of something amazing to see while there. It has changed so much throughout the years, but thankfully to the resilient nature of it's inhabitants, some things have made a comeback.
IMG_6117.jpg
(small crab)

IMG_5050.jpg
(itty bitty starfish on a sea fan)

IMG_6093.jpg
(Seashells and sand dollar on the beach)

IMG_6101.jpg

IMG_6179.jpg
(I am not quite sure what this is, except that it's very neat)

El Golfo, might as well be my second home, at least in my heart it is. I didn't live there nor did I live nearby, and neither can I say I go very often. Nevertheless, this was the place my father would take us to on vacation, and because of it, El Golfo will forever have a special place in my heart.
IMG_6122.jpg

IMG_6235.jpg

IMG_4793.jpg

IMG_6223-3.jpg

IMG_6252.jpg
("clay city" made by clams)

We had so many adventures there, my father and I. This was our special place. The area we visited was only accessible during a very particular low tide (a lower than normal low tide) and even then, your vehicle would still have to go through a good amount of water and rocks to get to our spot. It took an experienced driver and a good, resilient truck to get there. Not many would make it.
IMG_6028-2.jpg
(many vehicles have found the end of their road trip here)

IMG_6045.jpg

IMG_6021.jpg

IMG_6036.jpg

This area of El Golfo was our place, a sort of virgin beach area, miles away from the "regular" beach goers. The only people we would find in that area were the commercial fishermen and their "pangas" (canoe like boats). This was our spot and we could do as we pleased (yep, my sisters and I indulged in birthday suit style sun bathing back then). Unfortunately for some and fortunately for many, a road was made and our secret spot suddenly became open to a lot more people. Now all you needed was an all wheel drive vehicle. We were no longer alone, and the beach changed because of it.
IMG_4755.jpg

IMG_4974.jpg

IMG_4821.jpg

A few years after the new road was put in, the beach was almost completely bare. No seashells to be seen, at least not cute ones or whole ones. El Golfo was one of the few places I can visit that still have much natural beauty to offer, but it was being exhausted. I once saw a foreigner carrying sacks full of shells. He would gather shells and leave the shell full sacks on the way as they would become too heavy to carry. After he had filled several sacks, he would drive and pick all of the sacks and take them all from the beach. This practice, depleted the beach and did not help the ecosystem.

IMG_6312.jpg
(sea turtle skull found on the beach)
IMG_6313.jpg

Thankfully, as I mentioned before, El Golfo flora and fauna are resilient and many more shells have filled the beach again. Many of the animals have also made a come back with some very sad exceptions. However, I'm thankful for what has been able to make a come back. I feel blessed that my kids get to enjoy some of the treasures I enjoyed as a kid even when we didn't do our jobs at preserving the place.

IMG_5101.jpg

IMG_4781.jpg

IMG_5144.jpg

These are some of the critters that we got to see during our visit.
IMG_6107.jpg
(I bothered the crap out of this crab ;)

IMG_6158.jpg
(and this one too! Can you find the crab in this picture?)

IMG_6256.jpg
(find the fish)

IMG_5694.jpg
(these birds had no problem finding fish, I call this a feeding frenzy)

IMG_5723-2.jpg
(dive bombing the fish)

IMG_5789.jpg
(crows before...) ;)

IMG_5798.jpg
(seagull)

IMG_4874.jpg
(flipping happy dolphin :)

IMG_6057.jpg
(a coyote which my dogster chased all night)
IMG_5213-2.jpg
(the dogster ;)

Thank you for taking the time to read my posts. I apologize for the length of it, there's just so much I want to share. <3

IMG_5037.jpg

Sort:  

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

We LOVE your photography!

Here's a manual upvote from @rePhoto - Follow and support us!
logo
@rePhoto is dedicated to sharing and upvoting undervalued photography content across the steemit community. Check out the awesome photography we already resteemed!

Curious? Read more about us

Thank you so very much! It is always an honor to be recognized by groups such as this. It definitely motivates me to keep posting as good of content as I can. Thank you! 🙏🏼

You have some really beautiful photos!! I love to go beach combing... I would LOVE to find sand dollars one day! They're gorgeous!!

I do too! I used to find these guys, well the live ones all over the beach when I was younger. Not anymore, but at least we get all these beautiful sea shells 🐚 again. I hope you get to visit some time! Thank you for stopping by 🙏🏼🤗

Live sand dollars, I'll have to look that up, I have no idea what they are... I'm intrigued now! The shells are divine!! Love them!!

Did you find them?! They sort of look like the ones in the photo but they are rigid yet soft. The color of wet sand, and they usually lay camouflaged right on the beach sand. They are sort of fuzzy all around the edge. Like a starfish. I wish I had a photo of one but I haven’t seen one for over 25 years I believe. They used to be all along the beach 🙁. Now the beach is covered by what I believe is their fossils. Thank you for reading my posts 🙏🏼 Greetings from AZ 🤗

Yes I did, they are really interesting, I found a great youtube clip. Lets hope that the fact that their shells are still coming up onto the beach that they are still out there somewhere. Just not coming up onto the beach.

I hope so! 😬

So many things to see in a single place. I am really amazed. Your story telling is really great, made me feel as if i was there with you and your dog.

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

🙏🏼 Thank you!

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67