Rainbow Eucalyptus Tree in Panama - Tree Tuesday

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

If you've never seen a Rainbow Eucalyptus up close, you are missing out! The distinctive colors of the trunk of the tree are what make it very interesting. When the bark first peels off, the under side of the tree is bright green, but it darkens to orange and yellow and other colors.

IMG_6681.JPG

We have about 20 Rainbow Eucalyptus lining the back of our property in Panama, so we are able to walk by and see them every day on our walks! I was able to get close enough to the tree the other day to get some good pictures.

IMG_6682.JPG

I have seen some really huge ones in another part of the town we live in, but ours are still relatively small. They do get to be pretty tall though!

IMG_6683.JPG

The tree trunks are so pretty! The kids were asking me to pull off some bark for them, but the bark is just brown. It is the trunk underneath that changes colors.

IMG_6684.JPG

These are the tallest trees in our neighborhood. It looks like someone planted them around the fence line years ago, but we do not really know how they got there. I am not even sure if you can buy the seeds or plants anywhere in the area!

IMG_6685.JPG

Have you ever seen a Rainbow Eucalyptus?

!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

Unmentionables

Thank you to @old-guy-photos for creating #treetuesday.

Sort:  

very beautiful scenery surrounded by trees whose leaves are bushy! really beautiful nature in this world! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for stopping by. They are cool trees.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=rainbow-eucalyptus-tree-in-panama-tree-tuesday


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Wow I love the bark, it really does look like rainbow colors.

They are pretty cool in person! Have you seen any when you've been to Panama?

I may have along the mts. but not up close where I would have recognized them. They are beautiful.

You'll have to be sure to check them out up close next time. :)

I have seen them and I do love the bark! I have seen them in Florida (my mom and dad had one close to their house)

I knew it sounded familiar, but I had to see it! I love the colorful bark!

Oh nice! I read that they can grow in areas that don't get frost and get a lot of rain. Nice that they can grow in Florida. There were a few states in the US where they were. They really are cool looking!

Wow these are so unique! I have never seen a Rainbow Eucalyptus. It’s very pretty underneath that bark. If we had one of these in our neighborhood I would make a cool science project out of them for the kids. Thanks for sharing!

:) Yeah, the weeds are SOOOO tall that we really can't even get close to them at the moment. But we just bought a weed eater and I think we're going to clear a path! Maybe we should pull some bark off and see how long it takes to change colors - check every day! ;)

Yes! That would be a neat project! If you do please post the results! 😃

Wow, what great trees and lovely colors under the bark!

They really are cool. I read that they live in areas with no frost and lots of rain (Panama definitely fits that bill). I also read they are mostly used to turn into pulp and be made into white paper. So crazy for such a beautiful tree! :)

This is the first time ever I heard about a Rainbow Eucalyptus... So nope, I have never seen one before... Are the colours natural? At first thought when I first saw your photo, I thought maybe some children colour the tree...

Lol! Yep, all the colors are natural - no altered photographs. It is amazing how bright the colors are! Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for showing me the Rainbow Eucalyptus! 💖❤️💕💗

Well that's a very lovely tree

It is really cool. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Very cool. I have never even heard of one let alone seen one before! They are so cool!

Cool! Thanks for stopping by! They really are a cool tree!!

Wow, these are really cool! The trees look like they've been painted. I've never seen something like this before. Thank you so much for sharing.
Is there like a park or something in Panama that plants these trees and lets the public enjoy the sight?

Thanks for the comment. I don't know of a park in Panama that plants the trees. Possibly they are at some of the parks, but tourism and park preservation isn't a priority here in Panama for some reason. I know there are some wild locations with them. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43