Yellow crab spider

in #nature6 years ago


image.jpg



image.jpg


I told you that I will cut Helichrysum flowers to dry. And I did it. First, I left them beside that all the bugs come out. And look what started to run away from them!


That is one of the crab spiders (Misumena vatia). They are called so because they are capable of lateral movement along the common movement forward - backward.


image.jpg


After escaping from the Helichrysum flowers, he quickly found his new place. Soon I found him lurking in the Sandevilla flowers. He is a true flower spider.


This spider is special because it does not make the web, but its victim hunts from the ambush.


Helichrysum was a full hit, a perfect hunting ground because among those flowers he was inconspicuous; yellow spider in yellow flowers. And as the multitude of bees were constantly flying around, he had an easy source of prey.


image.jpg


Now it is easy to notice that yellow dot in the red flower. If he stays, the butterflies and grasshoppers that come here will end fatally. I'm just wondering if he will stay or move to another hunting place!



Thank you for your attention!



@andrijana

Sort:  

Great photos!
What a beautiful spider!
But sorry for other insects ...

''But sorry for other insects ..'' --> Dance of balance in nature :)

Yes ... I understand ... but still I'm sorry ...

Incredible yellow color 😊👍

That was my first taught! What a yellow! Screeming-yellow color!

Hahaha absolutely! 😬 😊

Crab spiders are capable of changing colour to suit their background. If she remains, she will be better hidden in a few days. I have seen them go green, pink or yellow as they need

😮
Amazing!
He (or she) was the same color as Helichrysum! Now it will turn to some pink red !

I also thought that you got different coloured types of crab spiders until someone told me that there is only one type but very talented ;)

I like your work, do check out my work as well :)

This is not a good way @snoopcat.
Go to a Steem Schools https://discord.gg/q9VEn5n and learn how to comment!

They always manage to scare me! The blend so well with the flowers they hunt on. I often see them on white ones... and only after I take the photo and look at it on the pc.

I have never noticed them before. That's why I was so astonished.

That's how sneaky they are! :D

This is the first time I see there's a yellow spider :O

Me too :)
This one looks like is made of sponge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58799.78
ETH 3205.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29