Three things I love about Texas in springtimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago

Spring is my favorite time of year in Texas. All around, there is eye candy, ear candy and feelgood vibes. Here are three of the things I appreciate the most.

Open-window weather

Cool weather overnight and in the mornings means I can open my windows and let in cool air. I am saving money on my electric bill, not having to run the air conditioner. I am improving the indoor air quality in my home by letting pollutants escape the house, and replacing them with fresh air.

Showy songbirds

A pair of mating red robbins lives on my street, and I frequently see them flying, roosting in trees, and hopping up and down the street. Earlier this week I walked my boys to preschool and we saw a large flock of birds with yellowish-green bellies, grey backs and a pinkish-red tuft on their heads. They swooped, turned and ducked in perfect unison, a dance in the sky. They landed in a tree just above our heads and we got a close look. Such beauty lifts the spirits.

Texas wildflowers

It is the time of year that everything is in bloom, in gardens, parks and along roadways. It delights both the eyes and nose. Here are some varieties I love, photographed by me yesterday at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in Austin.
IMG_20180405_155355.jpg
Bluebonnets, the state flower of Texas

IMG_20180405_155217.jpg
Buttercups. I also have a ton in my own backyard

IMG_20180405_155412.jpg
Verbena

IMG_20180405_155208.jpg
Unknown

Sort:  

You also have beauty near the house. I liked it very much!

This is a gorgeous part of the world! Have you ever visited Texas? Where do you live?

Yes, yes, yes, all the flowers are blooming in East Texas, love the pics.

Oh, I am so happy to meet some fellow Texans on here! Following you for sure.

The country side is so beautiful right now in Texas. Nice post.

So happy to find some Texans on Steemit! Following you for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91