Nature is so interesting...and unexpected...

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

RoseofSharon (2).jpg
So...about 10 years ago, the owner of the garden center I buy most of my perennials from, gave me a very humble and sad looking small Rose of Sharon tree. He said it needed a good home. Very nice of him to trust me with this challenge. It took a couple years and then flourished. Just beautiful. Gorgeous flowers.
RoseofSharon (2).jpg
Most gardeners have told me that Rose of Sharons will produce "babies", but this one never did. A bunch of years went by, and I never saw a "baby"....which was fine as the "Momma" was doing just fine. Then last Winter arrived and a big windstorm and the Rose of Sharon was broken...right at the main trunk. I was so bummed out! I thought it still may come back....maybe? Not to be....it was truly gone. Then...the most curious thing (to me anyway) happened this Spring....I started noticiing a bunch of little growth all around of....could it be....no....probably weeds....let's wait and see and sure enough! Yay! There are a bunch of babies all over!
RoseofSharonbaby.jpg
How interesting that all those years and no "babies" and the year it dies...it sends out "babies".....so it can live on. True survival or ??? I don't know, but it sure is interesting and so unexpected...and it sure makes me happy!

Sort:  

I know, in my experience, they are very resilient. If you love them, they are there to stay. And, if you hate them, they are there to stay.

Too funny...nice to know...thanks

I had no idea and thought it was lost...thanks for the comment!!! :)

Interesting for sure but normal enough, lovely plant and glad it lives on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72