Made some New Friends in my Front Yard

in #nature7 years ago

Yesterday I was weeding my front yard. I sometimes have trouble pulling weeds because I love plants so much (except holly)! But I have to do something to keep it looking sharp so the neighbors don't have a cow. Actually, a cow . . . never mind about that. Look who I found, growing in the bulrushes! Two little friends. I left them enough grass and plants to chomp on for a while until they make their magnificent transition. I pray that they are safe and happy and fill the world with joy and beauty.

Sort:  

It may hurt a bit i think :) the first one is beautifull.

I have half a dozen striped guys feeding on one of my dill plants. No problem, because I always plant for the wildlife in addition to me.

Got to keep those pollinators with us. That's why I don't use any chemicals whatsoever.

Heck yeah - I wish more people planted with animals in mind. :)

A tactic I have seen some people use to appease the neighbors is to allow some of your "weeds" segregated spaces and cultivate your yard to be more like a "meadow".

Remove (and compost if you can) the dead weeds and overgrowth. Trim the living ones back to look like they are there intentionally.

Also, learn about your "weeds" many of the plants that grow naturally in our yards are food, medicine, habitats for bees and butterflies that pollinate for us. They're not just "useless eyesores". Make little garden plaques that identify your "weeds" and what they're good for, your neighbors might actually enjoy your natural gardens.

After all ... this is a "weed"
tudor_rose.jpg

My neighbor kid, the other day, asked me, "you like weeds, don't you?" Haha yes I do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69