Tourist in Romania: Cozia Mountains - Autumn can't get better than this

in #nature8 years ago

I will bring you today the most beautiful autumn landscape I've ever seen.
Falling leaves are beautiful in any context but this trail has something extra. The beauty of the colors is just vibrant. It will be a post with a few words as photos are all I need to prove my point.

How the story begins

I've read, long time ago, a post of a Romanian travel blogger I like a lot. And she was talking about this most beautiful forest of the world. I've decided than that I have to do it.
I've tried to get some friends on board and 10 people announced they will join. One day before the trip in Bucharest started to snow so 7 of them decided they won't risk and left the group. Fortunately, myself and other 2 continued with the initial plan. And what a hike we had!
First, I have to mention that I forgot my winter/rain jacket at home. I realized this when we almost reached Calimanesti, the starting point of the trail. Too late to go back. I've crossed my fingers and hoped for good weather. And this happened, or at least there was no rain/ snow.

I was also very curios about the area as my parents met there, after the same hike my father did, on a terrible weather. This story caught my mother's heart.

Going up is easy and fun

This was one of the first marks we saw. If we would have lack the enthusiasm, at this point we had no excuse.

Just try to imagine a forest still green but with a lot of red leaves on the ground. Now open your eyes.

From one point on, the weather was not that good anymore and we entered a heavy fog. It was still beautiful.

Finally, we reached the peak and took some rest on Cozia chalet, a nice one where you even can get a toilet inside and hot water (not many chalets offer this in Romania).

Going down, not so fun anymore, still beautiful

Because of the same foggy weather the second day came with some small issues. We wanted to take another trail but managed to get lost.

We made new friends, 4 dogs, just one in the photo. We knew what is the direction but we did not had any marked trail. So we just went down, through the forest. Quite uncomfortable for the feet as the leaves were wet and the slope quite big. It took us longer than going up and we managed to reach a point 10 km from the one we left our car. Not fun, the road there is quite dangerous as cars are driving fast and there is no place for pedestrians. We managed to stop a car and they took us to ours.

But all went good in the end and we found a great spa to relax a little. We surely deserved it.

Sort:  

A nature lover, beautiful! I'm glade to meet people with the same interest as me :) regards!

glad to meet you, too:)

Love how the running water looks photographed

Yes, it was an amazing view. Thank you!

Wonderful photos again! That looked like a slippery bridge, careful!

kind as always, @herverisson. Thank you, looks more dangerous than it was.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66