Perfect dandelion

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemians!

Originating from Eurasia and North America, the dandelion can be seen everywhere once spring arrives. Its name, dandelion, comes from French dent-de-lion, meaning 'lion's tooth'. Its scientific name is Taraxacum.

A photo I took a few days ago - Steemit original
papadie.jpg

As you probably know, it is being used for medical purposes and for food preparation.

I was surprised to find out that dandelions are used to make wine in some regions. Dandelion wine has a moderate alcohol level and a fruity taste. Used to be made as a homemade recipe, nowadays you can also buy a bottle from some US wineries, among which Bellview Winery of New Jersey or Maple River Winery of North Dakota.

dandelion wine.jpg
Photo credit: www.commonsensehome.com

The dandelion wine is made only of the fresh petals. Best time to gather the petals is late April or early May depending on the region.

Thanks for reading!

Have a great Sunday!

Source

Follow-Me.jpg

Sort:  

The joy of blowing Dandelion clocks! Extra bonus that you can use them to make wine!

I was to do that pretty often when I was a child. Happy childhood times :D

Excellent post dear friend @alinabarbu, really a surprising news of the elaboration of the wine with the dandelions, I must admit that it was my complete idnorancia, thank you very much for this information

Thank you for your nice words, @jlufer! I'm glad you like it and you found the information useful! I really hope to try someday this wine! I'm very curious about it. Maybe, it can be ordered on-line. I will search for it :D

Wow there is something with this flower, keeps appearing in my face for the last two weeks. I had no idea that you can have wine from it, interesting :)

Dandelion wine seems pretty popular in some US states. Many people are using them for homemade wine recipes. And they are not the only flowers which are used for making wine:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59