Red and Black Dragonfly.

in #nature7 years ago

IMG_0992.JPG

Another nice sunny day so working in the garden again up by the pond. For once I'd taken my camera with me and got lucky when this little fella landed on the plant beside me to enjoy the sun. He stayed around just long enough for me to get a couple of pictures.

IMG_0998.JPG

Sort:  

Love these red tailed dragonflies. They can really move fast so they must have really liked you, to have stayed still enough, for long enough for you to photograph them. Well 'captured.' 🙏🍀🙏

Good shots! Looks like a male large red damselfly (Pyrrhosoma nymphula) to me.

Thanks, got lucky. No idea what sort it is.

Large red damselfly, male:

Large red damselfly, female:

Awesome shots! And yes, it's a damselfly - I have a special affinity with Dragonflies ... my absolute favourite insects ever!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.02 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66