My garden after yesterdays snow.

in #nature6 years ago

IMG_2317.JPG

Over the spring and summer I posted a few times about my garden as it came back to life after winter.

IMG_2319.JPG

One of the places I got most comments about was my wildlife pond that is now totally frozen over.

IMG_2322.JPG

We didn't really get all the snow that was promised by the weather men and with the skies clearing and no more snow forecast this week it looks like building snowmen and sledging won't be happening.

It seems like a long time since the garden looked like this.

IMG_1275.JPG

Sort:  

Winter is long and dreary. Too bad you didn't get enough snow for sledding. The kids would really have enjoyed that. Your pond sure does look different in winter. But at least you have photos to remember last summer by...

Most of the plants around the pond die back in winter but come back stronger each summer.

Are those fish in the pond? I heard they live under the frozen layer - is that true? I would think a shallow pond would freeze right through.

You have a beautiful yard. Lush.

No fish in my pond, think it's probably leaves caught in or under the ice. As long as your pond is about 2 foot deep though fish can survive in a pond, growing up we had a fishpond and in winter we'd just break a bit of the ice each morning.

ah....I always wondered about fish ponds in the winter.....thanks for letting me know. :)

We (people who love wild animals)
appreciate your work and nice presentation....
We are here to make people know the importance of wild animals....
Poaching and hunting is accelerating there extinction...
It is our duty to conserve these beautiful animals....
we once again congrats you for your hard work .....
@pleasesaveus thanks you for reading....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95