A swarm of baby spiders.

in #nature7 years ago

DSCN0898.JPG

I took these photographs last summer after managing to finding this newly hatched family of spiders in my garden.

DSCN0907.JPG

The spiders are a common garden spider in the UK and help to keep down bugs in the garden. They don't grow very big and the biggest insect they trap in their webs are probably bees, most often they eat on midge flies and other small insects.

DSCN0910.JPG

This is a full grown spider of the species who is feeding on a bumble bee that got caught in it's web, I took this photograph in my parents garden about 5 years ago.

DSCF0434-1.JPG

Sort:  

Remember the old tale, kill a spider and it will rain. You have got a big storms worth there. Should have a lot less midges hanging around with all them.

Great photo, but I'd be packing my bags. I have a dread of arachnids. :O

I hate them in the house but don't mind them in the garden.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61155.34
ETH 2383.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56