You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Naturhistorisches Museum Wien [Teil 3]: Sammlungen 2 // Natural History Museum Vienna [Part 3]: Exhibitions 2

in #nature5 years ago

Dear Anna,

I saw this several days ago, but wanted to take my time and enjoy it, so finally last night I read it on my iPad as I was getting read to sleep (in bed!). So rich in detail. Parasites can't flourish at 10 degrees Celsius? And those are really molds we're looking at (dermoplasties) with animal skins stretched over them? Amazing.

The beautiful photos are perfect on the iPad because I can enlarge and focus in to see details.

I learned so much, and then was a bit sad. Forgive me, but all those beautiful animals taken from life so we can see them in museums.
There was a time I could visit a zoo, and delight. Now I see the animals in cages and feel there is something wrong with taking them from their habitats and imprisoning them. My favorite museums were always the Natural History Museums in NYC and Washington DC (part of the Smithsonian). Now I love the Hall of Dinosaurs, but have a problem with the animals that were killed and stuffed so I could look at them. Maybe I watched too many Planet of the Apes movies :))

This is a silly aside on a brilliant blog. Somehow I feel you will understand and put the comment in context.

With great respect (for your skill) and affection (for you!)
Your friend from New York,
AG

Sort:  

Dear AG,

As for the stuffed animals in the museum, you're expressing exactly what I'm feeling. I visited the exhibition with my son and we had to think of all the agony these animals suffered in captivity and on their violent death. Just like you, I can't look at the animals locked up in the zoo anymore.

But my little series about the Natural History Museum would not be complete without the documentation of the immense variety of animal life.

Apart from the moral considerations, the exhibition is very interesting because it leads systematically through the animal world, from the smallest creatures to the primates. It is also a big difference if I see an animal in a book or if I can study it in life size from all sides.

I found the information about the underground storage room here (website of the museum):

"The bulk of the museum's dermoplastics and several thousand skins are stored in an underground vault at a constant temperature of 10 degrees Celsius. Because of the low temperature, no chemical pesticide treatment is needed."

In another article I read that in the past arsenic was used to prevent parasite infestation of the skins.

And those are really molds we're looking at (dermoplasties) with animal skins stretched over them?

For the anatomically correct reproduction of the animal body, plastic or plaster molds are used nowadays. The preserved skin of the animal is then stretched over it. The animals look very lifelike, which can also be seen on the photos.

I've just seen that you published a scientific article on sarcoidosis. I will study it carefully and look forward to learning a lot of new things.

Have a wonderful and peaceful time! 🌞 With great affection,
Anna

Dear @vieanna,
Of course you had to include all the animals. After all, you didn't stuff them. I'm not surprised that the practice of killing for show distresses you. When I made the comment I worried that it might offend, but believed I'd come to know you well enough that you would understand.

I remember reading about Vladimir Nabokov--brilliant writer. He was a butterfly collector. This meant he had to catch beautiful butterflies and kill them. For his 'collection'. I much prefer bird watchers, who appreciate beauty and celebrate life.

The amount of research you do is impressive. It is obvious that, as you observe, you ask questions, not just for your readers but because you are curious. The heart of a lifelong student :)

I see you have a blog about writing instruments --primitive typewriters. I'm eager to read this, but will save for my iPad at night, when I can relax with a pillow under my head and enlarge the pictures for better viewing.

Wishing for you the most happy and satisfying season.

With great affection and respect,
Your friend, who shares your appreciation for life,
AG

Dear AG,

You've got a pretty good idea of me by now. You know that I don't take your thoughts about the exhibition of animals in the museum as a criticism of my post. On the contrary, I'm glad that you addressed this topic.

Christmas is getting closer and closer. Another two days, then the holidays will begin and I will have more time for myself again.

I wish you the same: time for you and everything that is close to your heart.

Take care of yourself and have a good time!

Warm regards from the still snowless Vienna,
Anna

Dear Anna,
My granddaughter was stunned today to hear that I have friends overseas. Thank you. That is close to my heart :)
🌷
🌞

🌼🌼🌼 🌞🌞🌞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47