A Night to Remember!

in #nature7 years ago

I started to write an article about CO2 and the fraud of global warming but scrapped it for now, as I started to "reminise" about when I was a kid growing up in the arctic.
It was about a "once in a lifetime" experience I had with the Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis).

Sorry, these are not my pictures.

NL01.png NL02.png NL03.jpg

A bit of Background
I grew up in Discovery Mine, NWT.
It was a hard rock gold mine 70 air miles north of Yellowknife, NWT.

This is the "Headframe" circa 1957 -1958
Headfrm2.jpg

I'm the kid on the left with my two other brothers.
AndyJoeGerald.jpg

It was in the middle of winter which used to last about 8 to 10 months of the year.
It was a cold night about -32F and it was cloudy and snowing lightly.
I was standing on the road by the mill looking down the hill.
I couldn't see the northern lights directly as the clouds diffused the light.
As far as you could see, the entire sky, the mine and the snow had a reddish - pink tinge.
It was like being on a different planet! I didn't have a camera back then and I still regret the fact that I don't have any photos.
These are some stock photos I found but they don't do that night Justice!

NL04.jpg

NL05.jpg

It was a magical memory for me. One that I will not forget!

steemit01.png

Sort:  

I really hope to witness the aurora borealis in my life!

It is magical!

Yes, some nights it is just spectacular!
Thanks

Would love to see it one day in real life. Must be amazing!

Yeah, if you ever get the chance it is worth it, my friend!
They used to tell us if you whistled at them they would dance! I tried it but they were always dancing.
Probably an "Old Wives Tale"

Possibly a tale but worth while trying.

I hope you get a chance to whistle at them.
Worth seeing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67