ARE WE ISOLATING OURSELVES FROM NATURE?

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

mother-woman-tree-earth.jpg

Mankind has come a long way ever since we discovered fire. As the ever curious creatures we are... we have discovered ways to satisfy our need for survival on the earth. This was very instrumental in our growth as a species. But as we grew, our curiosity shifted from our needs into comfort, luxury and wants.

"Homo-sapiens" is what we call ourselves, meaning "wise-man". We have a cerebral cortex more efficient and faster than any primate which brought about our creativity and innovations like; music, arts, and technology. but as I think deeply about human nature and how it has helped civilizations grow, I believe that human nature is like a double-edged sword. like the greek mythology of Prometheus who stole fire from the gods and paid a price for it, we seem to be walking the same path.

Hong_Kong_Skyline-620x268.jpg

As civilizations grew so did our ecological footprint, but each step we take seems to wander far away from nature. We have succeeded in insulating ourselves from the very earth that birthed us, even though we are all living on welfare off earth's resources. but still, Mankind and Nature seem to be like two worlds living opposite to each other.

CONNECTING WITH NATURE

I am not here to preach about living in the woods neither am I hypocritical about the benefits of technology to mankind, but if there is going to be a global change to the decline of our natural environment, we all need a connection with nature on a personal level.
connecting-with-nature.jpg

So often, with life in the city... it's easy to be distracted by the honking cars, hustling, and our daily jobs, but no matter where you are nature is all around you. You don't have to take a vacation to experience it. I can remember a year ago, It was a hot summer evening so I took the sofa and slept on the balcony. the following morning as the early sunrise hit my eyelids, I woke up and had an urge to look into the sun as it rose gently over the horizon, two minutes later I felt this energy. I am not a morning person at all. I used to wake up feeling groggy but on this particular day, just the gentle ray of the sun was able to give me a pump that no caffeine can replicate.

I later found out that it was actually sun gazing and numerous research has been conducted on this. Thomas Jefferson University funded by NASA studied one Hira Ratan Manek and his ability to metabolize energy from the sun and survive on only water for long periods of time. It is however advised to practice sun gazing during early minutes of sunrise or sunset when the UV rays are zero.

Grounding is another way to connect with nature. Grounding is basically using your bare feet to touch the earth for long periods of time. There have been various scientific studies on grounding and its effects to boost the immune system and reduce inflammations in the human body.

The earth literally produces magnetic waves and electrons that enable life to flourish and protects us from solar flares. I believe it will be beneficial to take off those insulating rubber soles and feel the earth for a few minutes.

1011426.large.jpg

Also eating natural foods is also a good way of connecting to natural life, there are so many over processed foods flooding the market, growing your own food garden can also be an alternative. credit to @nirgf, his comment reminded me about natural food.
I could go on about how ancient early humans were able to gain enlightenment and insight by connecting to the earth but I choose to stay on the scientific spectrum so I don't scare off extremely logical readers.

Every other day I keep hearing news about one animal going extinct and environmental decline. you might feel powerless as an individual to change things but all it takes is one person, just as I have spread awareness through this article. The more people are becoming aware of our natural environment and regain that connection with nature, it could change the tides. There are also various green and plant a tree movement.

Thanks for reading God bless 😊

upvote.jpg

image source12

Sort:  

enjoyed this post! Like the points you made in this article. Would appreciate some view on mine since you've written such a good post about a topic I sort of specialize in as well.

Thanks for reading. I checked out your blog and followed. good stuff

Oh, thank you very much!

This was a good one! I have sungazed in the past, and I THINK it may have helped... But I like the way you want to stick to science!
imageedit_49_6693675719.gif

Thanks for passing by my page @occupywallets

That's pineal gland magic which regulates your body clock! :) And it's the same reason blue light (from phones, computers, etc.) is bad for falling asleep. :(

Just so you know, leaving a link in a comment on steemit is considered 'in poor taste' unless people pretty much ASK for it... Folks may get too cowardly to come out and tell you not to, but they'll flag (downvote) it and your rep score goes down... (You don't need a reference for having an opinion!)

Oh right, thanks for letting me know! I haven't read through all the guidelines etc. yet, got carried away looking at some of the posts - way more interesting than fb etc!

Following you now! Also, on your own posts you will have more flexibility... Think of leaving a comment on someone's thread as both a business card as well as a handshake... Unless you know them already, right? Anyway, this isn't even my post, LOL... I look forward to seeing your blog... I am a psychonaut myself!

Ok I get it. I've always been the more silent type on the internet but love how steemit promotes (positive) interactions, I'll definitely be checking out and commenting your blog! :)

I think that our body needs to connect with nature from time to time. Its going to improve health in general

Thank you @doctorcro, nature is good for the health

Saddly we are so disconnect these days no only with naturr but with ourselves. I was just having a conversation with my boy about how bad it is that we dont live in harmony with nature no more. Unfortunately humans had take a lot of advantaje of what this earth provide us with. Hope our generation and new generations are aware about this problem and take some actions about it. Good post. Upvote and follow.

Thank you for reading @anamena92 following you back 😊, something has to give, we have to leave the world a better place for the younger generations

I agree with everything you wrote here...sad but true, we've become so disconnected from what is natural and beneficial for us. Simple things like walking barefoot and sun gazing are awesome for our health, I practice them as much as I can...thank you for sharing this post.

Thank you for reading @raluca, keep having an awesome nature filled day 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by abmakko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sometimes I think I am, especially sitting her typing Aurg!
download

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need a boost? Click me

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Hey @abmakko

Totally agree with the feeling in this article

Lately I have but one desire is just to do some barefoot taichi on a nice grass field

The blistering cold of winter in Beijing makes it really hard to take my socks off, but I think I will try it this weekend if its sunny outside

I really love the science of grounding.

What I do instead is put a low frequency root chakra binaural beat and just sit on my yoga matt in my nicely heated living room and visualize my spine extending down to the core of the Earth

It's still pretty amazing but not as good as grounding myself on the earth's soil

Can't wait for spring and raising temperatures!!!

Thanks for the great reminder to seek connection with nature. Following!

binaural beats is very good. everything is vibration. nature's arms are always open. Thank you for reading @imp.unity 😊. following back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51