Perfectly Beautiful but Perfectly Deadly. . .

in #naturalwonder7 years ago (edited)

I came from the province of Camarines Sur in the Bicol Region, but no, this isn’t about me, this is about one of the 7 Wonders of Nature in the Philippines which is located here in the Bicol Region. So, without further ado, I introduce to you. . . .
MT.MAYON
(photo1) image
Mt. Mayon or Mayon Volcano is located at the province of Albay, at least 2 or 3 hours away from my location. Mt. Mayon is known for its beauty, having the almost perfect cone shape and being the only one at that, this is indeed a wonder of nature. But don’t be fooled by its amazing appearance because this wonder of nature is as beautiful as it is deadly for this is a very active one.
This perfect creation has claimed so many countless lives because of its deadly eruptions. Its first recorded eruption was dated back in the year 1616. But one particular tragedy in the most destructive and lethal eruption of Mt. Mayon has left its mark not only in the History of Bicol but also in the lives of all Bicolanos. It was in the year 1814, when the eruption had buried the Cagsawa Church (a Catholic Church) together with hundreds of people who took refuge inside it and the total casualties reached up to 1,200. The only thing that survived was the Church Tower which until now stood a few feet above ground that serves as a reminder of that tragic event and the deadly power that this beauty possess. The most recent eruption happened just a few years ago in 2014, it was all over the news and internet. With so many tourist going to Albay and even go as far as climbing the Lignon Hills to witness it. I even remember it, it was a scary yet magnificent sight, no wonder the tourists wanted to witness such event. It was at night when the sight was truly beautiful, the hot molten lava the color of red and orange, a large contrast to the darkness that the smoke and ash have brought, lit up the sides of the volcano as it cascades from its crater. Thankfully, warnings have been spread and people have been evacuated to safety to prevent another tragedy.
(photo2) CAGSAWA RUINS(Church Tower) image
Despite its deadly attribute, Mt. Mayon is still one of the most beautiful places here in Bicol. I got to see it closer a few times, the first time was during high school in an educational tour when we visited Cagsawa Ruins (the place where the Church Tower still stands), the view there was closer than most places I’ve been to see and admire the Volcano. If you want higher grounds, you can climb up the Lignon Hills, from there you could see not only the volcano but also view of the City of Legazpi below and beyond.

I took this photo of Mt. Mayon on our way home from Albay last month. (photo3) image
So, if you ever decided to visit Bicol don’t forget to include these in your list of adventures:

-Mt. Mayon (Albay Province)
-Cagsawa Ruins (Brgy. Busay Cagsawa, Daraga, Albay)
-Lignon Hills (Legazpi City Albay)

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed..

Thank you @surpassinggoogle for inspiring us newbies to continue to write here at Steemit and Thank you to my mentors @ankarlie, @antonette, @iwrite, @purpledaisy57, @iyanpol, @bobiecayao and others for helping and guiding me.

If you like this post of mine pls don’t forget to:
FOLLOW
UPVOTE
COMMENT
RESTEEM

Photo credits
photo 1 http://en.wikipedia.org
photo 2 http://www.pbase.com/tam_3rd/image/83378768
photo 3 @jhiecortez

Sort:  

Looks like somewhere to visit.

it is! Try to visit and explore some of the beautiful places here, you won't be disappointed. 😊
Thank you for choosing my post, really appreciates it.

Hopefully will visit there someday

I will have my own adventures one day

be sure to visit Bicol, we have so many beautiful places to be :-)

I've only seen it once a a distance beautiful

yes ma'am, truly beautiful.. you've been to Bicol before ma'am?

I wanna visit that place one day ss, keep safe

yes sis, if you do you can drop by my place too :-)

It's been ages since I went there but it is an awesome sight.
I remember our plane could land because of the debris it was spewing.

you should visit again soon and also try some other beautiful places here in Bicol..

Congratulations @jhiecortez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

nice historical place sis :)

thank you sis :-)

One of the places that I will visit someday. Thanks for sharing sis. Stay as you are.

You should! And while you're here, you can drop by my place too.. :-)

Its is beautiful when asleep, but its very dangerous once awake.

Yes sir, even now it was being closely monitored because of some tremors and small activities felt within the nearby area of Mayon. Hopefully it won't be erupting anytime soon.

Nice post. Im hoping to visit Mt Mayon early next year on my next trip. Its been on my list to see but I keep ending up at other destinations and out of time before I get there.

You should definitely visit Albay sir ☺.. Then you could try other nearby places too, if you haven't been to Caramoan Island, you should try it too. I'll be posting some other places to visit here in Bicol soon. Thank you for stopping by!

I've skipped those islands on most of my trips. I've only made it to Surigao last trip but my next we are planning to start from Surigao/Davao then work our way upwards through to Cebu then Donsol and nearby areas and eventually back into Manila.

Donsol, Sorsogon isn't very far from Caramoan Island (it's a white beach) if I'm not mistaken, but if you can't make it up there. You can just visit Albay it's nearer in Sorsogon than Caramoan. Happy trip and keep safe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77