Ditch the toxic Shaving Cream! My natural, EASY, alternative:

Ok guys, in this day and age, most cosmetic and hygenic products you can find at the store are quite toxic! This is pretty widely known now, although I think some people are in denial...

Today Ill tell you how you can ditch those toxic shaving creams!
It is so simple, and so easy, you will wonder why you didn't think of it yourself.

OIL.

That's right, oil.

Here's what you do:

  • Head to the store and get one of those tiny spray bottles they sell in the travel-size-stuff section.
    This will hold your oil and it is easy to dispense from here.
  • Decide what kind of oil you want to use. I personally have used olive, coconut, and avocado oils. I don't really like how olive oil smells. The coconut oil you have to be careful with, since it hardens at 75 degrees, so you may not want this in your drains. The perfect oil for me is avocado.
  • Fill your little spray bottle with oil.
  • You can stop at this point, but if you are like me, and like things to smell great, then you can add the essential oils of your choice! Lavender smells great and is soothing to newly shaven skin. So is peppermint. The combinations are endless, just pick what you like!

You use this just like shaving cream. Squirt it onto your skin, spread it around, then shave as normal. The ONLY downside I can see here, is that you no longer have the tracks through the white cream to tell you where you already shaved. You get used to this pretty quickly. ;)

The perks?!

It's cheap!
It's super healthy for your skin!
No cancer-causing chemicals!
You only need to use a tiny bit at a time, so it lasts a looong time!
Your skin comes out smooth and pre-moisturized!
What's not to love!?

I have only tried this on myself. My husband does not shave, so I don't know for sure how well this would work for beards, but I see no reason why it wouldn't work great.
I haven't bought shaving cream for years and years! (Well, except for my kids to make fluffy slime, but that's a whole other thing.) I only use my oil to shave with, and it is fantastic!

I hope you find this helpful!

Thanks for reading!

P1010274.jpg

DQmbj7aFc4KUTeZutepodkoLfk8RQpX8bmZR1UxNQmeJQ7X_1680x8400.pngDQmWanpr4tr3184ecNVLjHGyoLuS4zVRwgUBUbFzNWfq7Nq.pngDQmXncjfgxpSbXutHSRAPCjVUq7ddoA5SHsLPe7EoNrVfhC.png
badges courtesy of @daddykirbs

Logo-Black-Small-Banner.png

Sort:  

Mind. Blown.

OMG, and I was going to the health food store after this anyway, guess what I'll be looking for now?! This is fantastic! Thank you for sharing!!

No problem! It is so simple and easy! :D

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day!

Wow, I like this idea! Can't wait to try it. And, great idea to incorporate the essential oils. Thank you..and following you now!

Thanks! ♥
Ill follow you as well. :)

What a great idea. I have often wondered just how much money one spends over a lifetime in shaving cream and other toiletries. This sounds so much better and you can create your own smell, or smells for different occasions. 🐓🐓

Thanks! :D
I bet it is LOADS of money! Im always looking for ways to save money by doing it or making it myself!

How did I miss this amazing post? What an awesome hack! I use jojoba oil and frankincense on my face to moisturizer. I'll try the jojoba!!! Yay! I've always used soap, but it does dry you out! So cool!

Glad I could help! Haha! :D

I usually just shave with soap but with my new (and really sharp) stainless steel razor, I think I need something more lubricating and moisturizing - this is a great idea! I don't think coconut oil is a good idea though because I've heard of it causing problems in the pipes just like you said. Have you thought of using jojoba oil? I hear it's really good for skin/nails! Also, I used to use baby oil as a body oil which worked wonders, but have stopped since it is packaged in plastic and I'm trying to find plastic free options lol!

Yes, I used soap before too, but it is quite drying and I have sensitive skin so it wasnt good for me...

I like jojoba oil, but it is more expensive and not carried in my local grocery store, so I get the avocado which is much cheaper comes in glass jars. And I love adding in the EO's which help soothe the skin and smell SO good.. ♥

Makes sense! I don't think I've seen avocado oil before, I'll keep my eyes peeled! That would probably be good to use in DIY natural makeups too!

Probably so!
I find it with the rest of the oils, near the olive, I think. :)

i use a mixture of avocado, jojoba, and almond oil - with added vitamin E - plus a blend of skin-friendly essential oils for face washing (the oil-cleansing method) ... yet somehow the thought of using oils for shaving completely never occurred to me.

I LOVE THIS! once i use up my liquid soap, i'm totally moving to this.

Awesome! Glad I could help!

I have heard of oil cleansing, but never really looked into it... Ill have to research that! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.28
ETH 3369.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48