Another whole different story of omelette (?)



I will have to confess, even a Thai person like myself, never seen this type of omelette (?) till this time I went up north. To be exact, at this street in Lampang province called 'The Cultural Street'. The reason I'm not too sure if this is really an omelette is that, the ingredients are exactly what would be in a normal omelette but the way they cook it is a bit unique.

Kai Paam

In Northern Thailand, they didn't call it 'ไข่เจียว (Kai Jeow)' which means 'Omelette' either. They call it 'ไข่ป่าม (Kai Paam)'.

Northern Thai Style grilled eggs on banana leaves. Tastes like omelette but the aroma of that charred banana leaf and how not greasy at all of the egg, make it the whole different story.


It gives a much healthier feeling than the normal omelette but I gotta say, I think I enjoy the normal ones more. This one give such a dry feeling because there's no oil involved. It's good though, it's really good! I'm sure if I have it often enough, this will grow on me and I would just forget the regular greasy omelette like, completely. This comes with such lovely price too, that one little banana leaf bowl of Kai Paam for 10 THB (0.3 USD).

I believe it's not just here in Lampang as I did a bit of research, they have it too in Chiang Mai. It might as well be in other different northern Thai provinces. One of the hostel says, it's a must-try and a rare item as you don't easily find it just anywhere.

What's the weirdest looking omelette you have ever eaten?




Not on Steem yet?? Let the ninja gets you a Steem account and start earning crypto!

㋡ Get $55 off your first adventure on Airbnb! on Airbnb
㋡ BEST Boba Tea in town [Bangkok].




All copy and photos are original content by me.

© waybeyondpadthai.com


k9cn9zmuib.png       jnrhf8i8l4.png       ihk2gf42un.png       8q8v4gmdh1.png


TO SUPPORT WITH LOVE 💙 PLEASE SUBSCRIBE!!! TO MY SUPER DUPER AWESOME YOUTUBE CHANNEL :)

Sort:  

Sounds good! Last weekend I wanted to bake an egg in an avocado, but unfortunately it didn't turn out as I hoped it would😅 So no more eggs out of the oven for me...

I didn't think having an avocado cooked would be so good..?? I tried it before and it's bitter af once it's heated :?.... Sorry to hear it didn't turn out so good for you!

Haha you're right, it isn't tasty at all!

That is one creative way of making an omelette! Look pretty good to me!

I liked it! and it's way healthier :D

Healthy, what is that? I know you like food and taste is far more important that what is healthy 😂

Not true 🙃

Posted using Partiko Android

I had eating it , very good eat.

Yeah???? That's random! It's my first time eating it 🙃

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm planning to visit Thailand for the first time next year and I'm so excited to try the typical cuisine of your country.
p.s. I really love all your post about food!

Aw thanks! Sure let me know when you are in town! We could meet up and go for some food tour 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow thank you very much, that would be amazing 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

That looks weird but I'll have one please :D

This looks very cool.. I must try this there then I know what more I can say.
And at the moment I haven't tasted a strange omelette... but your look very strange so I must try get it 😊👍👌😄

Haha , I think you could even try to make this yourself at home while Steem's still low 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmmm... I can try :)) And yes steem is low , but good things not come fast :)

Definitely unique enough way to cook the egg. never seen it before.

Hi @waybeyondpadthai!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.500 which ranks you at #604 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 92 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73