Rosemary Mint Cocoa Butter Lip Balm

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)


Keep your lips moist and refreshed with this super easy recipe for Rosemary Mint Cocoa Butter Lip Balm. I've tried a lot of lip balms over the years and this recipe makes one of my favourite formulas.

This lip balm invigorates the senses with an irresistible minty rosemary herbal flavour combination. The peppermint and rosemary oil is infused with silky smooth cocoa butter, bees wax and olive oil creating a formula that pampers and conditions lips. We like to use olive oil as the base carrier oil in our lip balm because it contains vitamin E & K. Vitamin E is a powerful antioxidant.

This is a great project for anyone looking to make their own holiday gifts, a stocking stuffer or to spoil your co-workers and friends. You can make up a big batch of this recipe in 20 minutes!
Rosemary Mint Cocoa Butter Lip Balm

Rosemary Mint Cocoa Butter Lip Balm

With all natural ingredients including, cocoa butter & bees wax you can feel good about what you are putting on your lips. This recipe is easy to customize to your own tastes, switch up the scents or the oils!
Makes 200ml

Supplies

Ingredients

Supplies

  • Measure out the beeswax, oil, cocoa butter and olive oil into a heat resistant jug. I use a pyrex measuring jug as the spout makes it easy to pour into the containers.
  • Place the measuring jug in a saucepan and turn on low heat. Gently stir until all of the solids have melted. It can take a a few minutes for the bees wax to melt but be patient and resist the urge to turn up the heat. Heat will destroy some of the healing benefits of these ingredients.
  • When all of the ingredients have melted remove the jug from heat.
  • Using a flexible silicone spatula stir in the vitamin E, rosemary and peppermint oil.
  • Pour the melted lip balm into lip balm tubes or metal tins and allow to set before affixing the lids. The best time to pour is when the mixture is still warm so that you can achieve a lovely smooth surface.

About Cocoa Butter

Cocoa butter is a natural fat that comes from the cocoa bean. It adds a creamy softness and lovely scent to your lip balm. Cocoa butter can benefit the skin by locking in moisture and protecting the skin from oxidative stress!

Sources

http://www.florajournal.com/vol1issue1/march2013/5.1.pdf

https://www.herbaldynamicsbeauty.com/blogs/herbal-dynamics-beauty/cocoa-butter-benefits-for-skin-healing-the-damage-of-oxidative-stress



Posted with love from my blog walkerland.ca with SteemPress : https://www.walkerland.ca/rosemary-mint-cocoa-butter-lip-balm/

Sort:  

ooo they look so pretty....! going to be making some shear butter products this week for xmas prezzies, i also have cacao butter so may give this formula a go if i can get the ingredients, how necessary is bees wax, can u sub it?

I have never made it without beeswax. I think it really adds a nice texture and makes it extra moisturising for the lips. I am just not sure how it would be if you substituted it.

Probably shea butter will do the trick, as it's ultra moisterizing.... 😉 Thanks 👍

Let me know how it turns out if you end up doing it.

oh this sounds amazing, I love the idea of peppermint and rosemary together, I imagine it smells good enough to eat xxx

It is so lovely. I've always loved rosemary and mint together.

Lip balm is something I use a lot of in winter. I've never tried cocoa butter, it might be just what my lips need!

I can't stand having dry lips, I get really distracted by it. Cacao is really is a lovely addition to natural skin care goodies, although all of the oils play their part! Its also all about the smell ... I just love how it smells.

Awesome! This would make a great DTube too...!!

ah, I didn't know about the DTube & NM revolution that was going on. Eek! I'll try to do a video of the next recipe that I do - which should be soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75