Learning To Be Still & Homesteading for the Long Run

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

IMG_5882_02.jpg

Hmm. Well, I've been taught a bit of a lesson this week about listening to my body and being kinder to myself. I preach it often enough, but sometimes, I fail to take my advice. A recent injury has got me thinking about longevity and the homesteading lifestyle. Will I be able to do this when I am 60? 80?

I woke yesterday, and the pain in my back was sharp, pinching, flaring, stiff, and ouch. Injury of this nature is something new for me; I've never pushed it past that line before and actually ... broke. I find this quite alarming because I love hard work and pushing myself. We've got a lot to get done and much of it relies on me being strong and capable.

So what happens when you've discovered a touch of weakness? What if it never goes away? What one of us gets seriously injured or sick? What if I have to pay for ignoring the signals of my body for months, years ...forever even? These are scary thoughts when your whole lifestyle is balanced upon your ability to get the job done.

I find myself at a loss, caught up in this cycle of having to lye down, stretch, do nothing, pack back and forth, lie down again - all of it incredibly frustrating and confining. I can't help but wonder about how well keep this lifestyle up in the future decades.

We exercise a lot. Could do better. We stretch a lot. Could also do better. We don't take rest days. We sometimes (always) push for too long without breaks. When it comes to self-care - we can do a LOT better. This gives me hope. More focus needs to be put on self-care. I can fix this. Clearly, I've been ignoring the warning signs and maybe it is as simple as that in the end?

It's not easy to learn and listen. I thought I was doing the right thing yesterday by taking it easy which for me was watering the greenhouse and making three batches of soap. I've been experimenting with the wild dandelion and spruce tip infusions that I'd made a few weeks ago. I am somewhat amused upon reflection that I thought standing in a kitchen for three hours would be an easier/lighter task than say ... reading a book.

I stood there back throbbing and feeling the frustration of having started a project that I was not fit to do. I got it done of course and then spent hours lying down trying to undo the hurt. I'm sort of lost on what to do with myself. This really isn't much fun and I never want to be in this position again.

IMG_5879_02.jpg

dandelion infused soap with garden herbs and botanicals.

IMG_5878.jpg

Spruce tip & dandelion infused soap with garden herbs and botanicals.

While immobile a gift for nature came along.

We had a good long soaking yesterday and a double rainbow. It was as though nature had come along with a reminder of something I'd forgotten. It's ok to be still. It's essential to tune in and listen to our bodies. Nature can take care of itself (and me) if I let it.

So I lie around and listen to my body throbbing. In the silence and stillness, I can pinpoint the exact area that hurts. I can feel activity going on inside there as things try to reach and cope with the damage I have done.

I'll try and be patient. I'll silence all of the "maybe I should do's" that pop into my head every five seconds. I'll let my husband do my heavy lifting for a while but he needs to be just as mindful.

I'll listen to poetry & music.

and a podcast about mosquitoes being important pollinators. Something I'd never contemplated.

I'll lie on the balcony enjoy a few kisses from the sun, smell the lilacs and swat mosquitoes.

most of all I won't forget this lesson. I promise.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=6&v=IZqAnIp5dMQ

IMG_5876_02.jpg

Sort:  

My back used to go out every so often. Sometimes I'd done nothing more than get out of a chair.

My bodyworker suggested that when lifting and carrying things, to think of the psoas muscles (I think) in your abdomen. She called them the sailboat. They run in a sort of a triangle from upper abdomen down, hence the idea of a sailboat's sails. She said to use them to lift and carry, instead of back. I know when I remember to use them, it sure makes all the difference.

In the meantime, not much of whatever was suggested really helped heal, except time....

haha - yes, time and patience. Not easy! I used to train my staff to lift properly at work because we had a lot of heavy lifting going on AND I used to do weight lifting at the gym. I know better. If I can manage to heal this I'll do everything and then some to prevent it from happening again!! Wish I could have had this lesson in the winter time, it's torture for me right now.

When I was a kid I wandered into an abandoned construction site. I climbed all the way up high on the red iron beams. I looked down and was 4 stories up. No help was coming, no one knew where I was. That day I learned fear was a choice. It took me 1 hour to gather my senses, stand up on the beam, and walk across. Below was exposed rebar. Years later I became an ironworker apprectice and graduated to full fledged Master Mechanic. I still love eating eating my lunch up high, when I can. Learning to be still is a powerful tool. Thanks for sharing.

I am the same as you. I work a very physical job & poo-poo the people who call out bc they have a little headache or pain, when I continued to work with a back so sore that I just waited for it to go numb during my shift. It’s not smart, but I power through remember the pain & try to be better about keeping myself healthy to avoid another injury. It’s hard work being a tough nut!!
Take care!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like the sounds of being a tough nut. Sounds so much better than "stubborn" - both come with a price though. As I Get older (42 now) seems my body has a tad less resilience when it comes to abuse. I learned that powering through everything thing from my dad - seeing how he suffers now in his 70's and this recent rebellion from my body is starting to wake me up a bit.

My reminder to rest is a pinched nerve in my lower back. When it flares and sends me to my knees, it's time to take the rest of the day off.

oh man, that is quite the sharp reminder! I have so much empathy for you, especially now that I am getting a taste of what it feels like. I am much better at being the bossy healer than the patient!

Ahhhhh! This lesson!! I hope you are not in too much pain... but, enough to actually 'get it' i can again empathize so much! And, i get concerned as i am coming on 42 and still have yet to set-up my off-grid homestead including finding companion(s) to live this way for the long-haul. Am i nuts to think it is still possible!! Oh my lanta! I will try not to get too wound up about it but... it's definately to consider. Your soap looks amazing!! One thing i know, we've got this! One Step at a time ❤❤❤

haha, oh goodness I am so stubborn. I am pretty tough and keep "trying" but yeah, there's not much strength in me right now. Total bummer. I had some conversations with an elderly couple that is homesteading in their 60's and it was truly reassuring. They are proof that it can be done.

They suggested making sure the systems you put in place consider age. Build them in ways that will make life easier in the long run. We've got some raised beds and a lot of perennial food - which is perfect and our home is small and easy to maintain. A lot of what we do now should support us as we age, even though its a long way off, I totally see that we need to be mindful of it as we plan things.

Keep on dreaming and planning, things will fall into place when the time is right!

I have hurt my back many times trying to carry huge painting of mine when I was still a full time artist. The only way to heal your back quickly is do absolutely nothing for a few days until the hurt goes away. Use this time to catch up on books or movies that you have wanted to read or watch but never seem to have the time. Take care!

oh wow! I didn't know you were an artist! How did I miss that? Well, that explains why your gardens are a work of art - you've got the natural flair. Thanks for the well wishes.

And yet still, people homestead with awful illnesses, tragedy and other issues - you guys are amazing. But yes, you MUST take care of yourself. Lots of core work!!!

Navasana - boat pose. Daily. Lift and lower legs and torso to floor and up again. It kills. But it keeps your core strong.

image.png

And wow, those soaps. I still haven't made soap - i'm too scared. And there's so many different recipes, I don't know which one to use! Maybe I just need to trust YOURS - have you got a link (I'm sure you do!) xx

thank you, a newly focused regime for self-care will commence as soon as I get over whatever this is. Gotta learn when to stop.

I haven't really written much about soap making. It is something I love to do and I've been working on some wildcrafted recipes that we'll be selling eventually. The house smells so good when soaping is going on!! I'd like to teach soap making classes as well her at the homestead. You could check out lovelygreens.com she has some nice recipes and guides on soap making. Myt first soap making tries originated from there.

Lovelygreens, got it. I cant believe you have never posted on soap!!! Its definitely on my to do list which is superlong right now!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I have one soap recipe on my blog for a coffee cocoa salt soap - super rustic and quite unique but not exactly a beginner recipe. It's super popular with my family but it a bit more expensive for the ingredients than a lot of other recipes. I am starting to think I need a new blog/brand for moving forward ... so muddled. Too much time to think.

A new brand??

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71