Afternoon Walk and Milk Thistle Harvest

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

My daughter and I took a walk down the road by our house this afternoon to find some milk thistle seeds to harvest.

She was having so much fun running down the gravel road and screaming at the top of her lungs!
d18c406d-05c4-477c-9683-72c37b47be27.jpg5abb7991-7b06-4796-a247-940694a07f49.jpg

I made sure to bring some protective gardening gloves with me, because the milk thistle plant is extremely spiky!
d0f598d6-8350-4560-96a3-3f9c3959c4e8.jpg
They have soft purple flowers.
47ca0751-c100-4e33-92c6-7369c444b2e1.jpg
The flowers go to seed and the seeds have light hairy/feathery attachments that get carried away by the wind very easily.
342289d7-5bf0-4f1f-938f-dcdc6e38eeaa.jpg
The seeds themselves are the size of a grain of rice and grey in colour.
1e9de388-eb08-4650-9bbc-d751616f6465.jpg

When we got home, we found some very happy bees digging into our sunflowers. Check out those furry yellow legs!!

fdd0bf8a-956f-4cbb-92d5-e6e2fbd3f270.jpg

I have read that milk thistle is extremly good for the liver, brain, and bones, and is promising in cancer prevention. I haven't decided what the best way will be to use them!! Feel free to drop some ideas!!

Sort:  

Gorgeous plants, they look so healthy, I've never used this! Lovely shot of the sunflower & bees, your daughter is very fortunate growing up with so much of nature around :)

Milk thistle is amazing @vanessamidwife. Excellent liver tonic. Apparently it only works maximally when infused in alcohol base. So a tincture. I have terrible hypermesis - where nothing brings relief. Although apparently milk thistle works for some with morning sickness

Lovely photos. I am not sure about milk thistle as I never use it before. But natural medicine is always the best. ❤️ My regards to you and family.

Looks like South Africa has great scenery! I'm sure it's a wonderful place to grow up!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, looks like a lovely place to go for a walk! You got some lovely shots of the thistles. ♥

Aw she's so cute!!

Milk thistle is GREAT Nat med but I don't know how to prep them.. we have tablets. When hubby was recovering from too much partying in his twenties he used them alot.

Posted using Partiko Android

What lovely photos!
You can put those milk thistle seed in your pepper grinder and sprinkle it on your food.

Oh, that sounds like a neat idea!! I look forward to finding out what flavour it has!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for being a continued advocate of natural medicines on the blockchain! Love your post so much that we’ve also resteemed it.
We welcome new members in our Discord channel, so if you’re reading this and think you’d like to know more about Natural Medicine, please join us here

What lovely photos and what a wonderful harvest! Milk thistle seeds are pretty potent. I'm sure folks from the #NaturalMedicine community would have lots of ideas for using them.

I have tinctured some milk thistle seeds and drinking it regularly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17