Delicious Invasives ◇ Making Garlic Mustard Pesto

20200406_124220.jpg

This was our lunch yesterday, egg salad with wild pesto in a lettus boat

Steem line 2.png

Though we had a bit more lunch than just that I finnaly made some garlic mustard pesto!

Alliaria petiolata is an invasive plant fron Europe. Apparently, most of the garlic mustard we find here is the same genome found in England. It has an interesting way of taking over native plant territory. I'm not sure how to explain it but the more there are garlic mustard the more deer are around... they'll eat the other plants and let the invasive take over. There was an amazing video from Adam Haritan's website that ypu can finde here. He explains this plant in a simple way.

Making pesto:

20200407_093830.jpg

So I collected a bunch of plants, pulling the whole thing, including the root system when possible (I used them to make a wild horseradish style sauce).

20200407_094414.jpg

I then pulled off enough of the leaves to fill a salad bowl, I cleaned them, dried them and in the food processor they went.

20200404_095335.jpg

20200405_115115.jpg

I added some nice olive oil, a little lemon and sunflower seeds because we didn't have pine nuts.

I added the oil a little at a time until the pesto reached the consistency I'm used to in store bought stuff. Also, no need to add garlic.

The first day, it wasn't that impressive but on day 2 this pesto was pretty delicious!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85