You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Treating Pain With Chinese Medicine

I truly enjoyed reading this. It was informative. I have recently been dabbling in acupressure. We have had great results. Its a shame these types of medical solutions have been demonized and considered "quack" medicine. Thank you for sharing

Sort:  

I once questioned a western medical doctor that was treating my wife after her broken leg. I asked him what he thought about eastern medicine, chi, acupuncture and such. His immediate response was that it was all nonsense. Nothing valid about any of it.
I then asked him if he had ever studied or even read anything about it.
He said that he hadn’t.
I didn’t bother to say what I was thinking after he said that because the futility was obvious.

I got into it in a similar way. My then-80yo grandmother hurt her arm and it turned into a frozen shoulder. Her GP of decades told her there was nothing she could do about it.

As she was fiercely independent I looked into options for her, and found an acupuncturist for her. Within a few treatments she had mobility back in her arm.

When I took her back to the GP she was so happy and proud, showing him her returned ROM... and he just kept saying “acupuncture doesn’t work.” She never returned.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for your comment @scarletreaper.

There is still an ethnocentric stigma with this stuff... I have read tons of (translated) research papers from China, all quite sound... only to have Western medical researchers dismiss them out of hand. And yet those same researchers accepting the findings of Western research which is nowhere near as thorough.

Some old habits die hard, I guess.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65