You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Turmeric - Day 231 - Haiku - On the Benefits of Turmeric, and Growing Our Own Food and Medicine!

This week is DEFINITELY turmeric week for the Nat Med crew! I'll post about my fermented turmeric soda when it starts a-fizzing, can't wait. Still wish I could grow it! Did you see @quochuy's drying efforts?

Sort:  

Not yet, but I will check out the post later.
And I'm interested in your turmeric soda - are you making it with water kefir? I actually hadn't thought of that, though I'm not sure why, since I have had it made with ginger. Duh. ;-)
And I included instructions on how to grow it in pots, should you choose to do so. It is well worth doing, but you already know that.
Off to bed for me. Later, my friend. ;-)

I grow them in grow bags of 50cm diameter. This year harvest to make the powder was from starting with two bags and 7 small sprouting rhizomes in each.

B3785196-23B3-4AC3-8C1E-8DD9A21D2A51.jpeg

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent! I've been wanting to more with grow bags, especially for my chaya. You've just helped me make up my mind!

Thanks for your great comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Just keep in mind that soil in grow bags dry faster than in pots but the grow bags promote better soil aeration

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed, but the soil also is less likely to overheat in the sun, which is a big factor when using black nursery pots. Plusses and minuses on both sides.

Yes. There are actually many plusses for using grow bags and one important one is the air pruning of the roots.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hence my reason for wanting them for my chaya, which is an extremely aggressive rooter.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73