Sort:  

The trick is to make your first batch HELLLLLLLLA salty, then after the bugs are established from several weeks of fermentation, you now have starter where no salt is necessary. I’ve only added salt on the very first batch I made and none of mine have gone bad. The only mold I get is nonpathogenic which creates this beautiful layer across the top of the ferment (I’ll get a photo next time I give it a month to ferment and take hold). Mine are hard to drink straight cos they taste like tangy blood (hiiiiiigh iron content) but they’re amazing in smoothies. My partner eats the beets straight up though. I only eat them chopped and put in things like salad lol it’s a really great flavor, it’s just very potent.

I think I need to give it another go so I will take your advice on board so are you saying that in your subsequent batches , you put in a splash of starter with some water and more beets?

Posted using Partiko Android

I use the same jars over and over never letting them empty completely. I will use all but about 3cm of the juice and leave a few beet chunks to feed the buggies. I keep the jars awaiting the next batch in the fridge to slow metabolism so the bugs stay healthy longer. Once I’m ready, I just add beets and distilled water.

Perfect. So in some ways it is like Kombucha but how do you stop the beets rising to the top? Do you use a weight ?

Posted using Partiko Android

I use no weight, the beats stay down on their own. The only issue I have is over production of foam that develops during the initial ferment. For the first several days I just put the mason jar lid on the jar loosely. This helps reduce the foam by contact with oxygen as the microbes are anaerobic. After about three days I seal them tight and only bleed them when absolutely necessary.

Bleed them? You mean take the lid off? Sorry for being a pest. I'm drinking this delicious store bought kvass at the moment but can't afford this luxury all the time! It's also got lots of other yummy things in it too like moringa and nettle - it feels like an insane burst of GOODNESS every time I drink it!

Bleeding refers to the releasing of excess pressure developed, in this instance the pressure builds from the production of CO2 as a byproduct of lactic fermentation. You don’t necessarily want to take the lids all of the way off as you want to maintain an anaerobic environment (lacking oxygen) and by taking the lid off all of the way you are effectively releasing all the CO2 to be displaced with O2.

Pester away :) I do better with questions about things than I do that ushy gushy mushy stuff with emotions and what not.

I’ve considered making a mixture of different herbs to ferment with the beets to make it more palatable and drinkable but haven’t gotten to experiment yet. That definitely sounds like a great drink 😍

HAHAH why are you even friends with me and my emotions, lol. Love you. He he xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49