You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chicory: A Medicinal & Culinary Perennial (And How To Make Roasted Chicory Root)

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

In our experience this requires a lot of patience as it likes to grow in hard packed, rocky soil.

Okay, I'm sold. You described my front garden where I struggle to grow anything! Do the cultivated varieties have bigger roots, do you know? If you don't dig up the roots, does it spread via them like comfrey does?

My grandmother used to love her chicory coffee. My mum used to have it too, because she reacted to coffee, it made her itch. Unfortunately, she still prefered her coffee.

Sort:  

I don't actually know for certain, I would imagine it depends on where they are grown. Our dandelions for example get huge roots in the field that we've been carefully amending to make lighter but the ones growing everywhere else have tiny roots. I have to think it is all about the soil.

I have read that it spreads by seed but I was hoping that the roots will spread as well (it has a similar looking root system to horseradish). I am not positive of this.

https://www.uaex.edu/publications/PDF/FSA-6081.pdf

Thank you for the link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79