You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Sugar, Stevia and Sweet Cicely - Oh So Sweet...

We grow stevia here at our homestead too. In our zone, I've successfully overwintered them. They are so big now. This year they have reached near 4' bushes. I cut them down to 1 1/2' bushes and they grew again to 4'. They are the plant that keeps giving. I have them bundled to dry and will make my powder. Since we have 4 bushes, we have a good amount of stevia to last us for a long time!! :) I'll have to try your recipe above. Thanks for sharing! Upvoted and resteemed.

~Bren from Kindred Acres

Sort:  

Lucky you that you can over winter them there! I have to bring mine indoors to winter them.
That is quite a productive bush you have there! Maybe you will have to sell some on Homesteaders Coop!

For sure we are blessed. They aren't said to overwinter here but I assume because we do BTE gardening (we have a heavy heavy layer of woodchips) that it insulates the roots. Two of the plants are up against the house and the rest are tucked in within the garden. That also helps add some insulative value. I do need to look into selling on Homesteaders Coop. We have an Etsy shop now but would love to switch over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67