Frangipani Scent : Complementing my DIY Organic Lemongrass Facial/Body Scrub

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago

My diy organic facial and body scrub seems very promising as the demand from my family, friends and neighbours will likely mean another lemongrass harvest from the fields nearby. Having planted a few in the backyard, my daily usage for my mom's herbal tea will gonna replete every stalk standing, warranting to leave them alone for a while.

As i've never done anything like this before, my time online have lessened dramatically as my excitement to produce quite a few concoction of the different measurements of the ingredients has taken a lot of my time in real life. Till now, which I find very fascinating.

Personally, i quite love the lemon scent from the lemongrass. But because it's used frequently in cooking, my household and neighbours are quite amused with the scrub's smell. It might just be like that for the entire Asia or perhaps a few do like the scent on its' own. I suppose, something needs to be added to produce a different variety of scents.

If I have to add another scent, the source must be available and very much accessible. Considering what's in the backyard, there are trees whose leaves can produce a nice scent on their own. We have mangoes, different citrus trees and kalamansi that are available the whole year round. These can be used, but looking for a more scented ones, we have ylang-ylang, jasmine and frangipani. All can bloom but in season, among the three, only the frangipani have a few blooms at the moment.

What i love about it is that, the flowers just fall-off when mature.

For some people, the scent of frangipani is heavenly, more specially at night during in season. Although we only have one, the flowers are eye-catching during the day, the surrounding area at night smells awesome. It's not in season so the scent doesn't reach the house.

Picking a couple fresh off the ground, the scent is still strong so I reckon I can use them. There's not a lot but these will do.

One day under the sun, these can dry easily so i have been trying them together with the lemongrass. In the future, I will need more to really make a difference with the scent as it's being overpowered by the scent of the lemongrass.

As for the benefits, frangipani flowers can help to smoothen the skin, having also an antibacterial property. Accordingly, it is also useful in eliminating warts.

With the combination of frangipani and lemongrass, these two are quite powerful and beneficial to the skin in such a way that together, they are antimicrobial, antibacterial, fungicidal and antiviral. Plus with the anti-aging property of the lemongrass, frangipani complements it by keeping the skin smooth and healthy.

All images were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7. With thanks to @bearone for the footer and @riverflows for my gif.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I really love frangipani. We have frangipani trees in Queensland which is north for us and tropical. Sadly we don't have them down where we are. I certainly didn't know they're any good for removing warts. I still have this ugly one on my elbow that I haven't got rid of yet. It's really cool you are making your own face Scrubs. It is silly how much cosmetic companies charge when you can make your own natural ones. Of course if I lived anywhere near dear artemus lives I would be buying her products.

Posted using Partiko Android

It said so in the article..let me research further.
I was about to order her lemongrass scrub but the postage was more expensive than the products so i reckon i'll just make my own having the ingredients she's using. Hope she won't mind though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it is expensive for me to order it as well

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah...what can u use River?
ive been mixing the lemongrass too with brewed coffee remnants and moringa. Just add your organic oil and honey😘😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Perfect. Coffee is really good and cheap when you use the remnants. I really like coconut oil. The other thing is that is much better for the environment as the microplastics they use in cosmetic Scrubs are really bad.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh definitely as it's organic. The thing with coconut oil is that it smells bad after sometime. I can make some or buy in the wet market but the scrubs need to be used within a short period. Cooking it ourselves would be perfect as making coconut oil leaves an edible yummy pieces, used as toppings for desserts😍😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, it looks like you put a lot of love into your products. I wish I could smell the scrub, it sounds beautiful. ❤️

Haha thanks, i have to as i use them first myself. Lucky those who are brave enough to try them after me. If you like lemony scent, you will love this. If you want to order online, purethainaturals have it, ask @artemislives. She's based in thailand. I got the idea from her store.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would definitely suggest that nothing we could make possibly compared to the quality of her ingredients. I don't think we could even replicate by guessing that we probably shouldn't or even suggest that x

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh definitely River!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You've been visited by @riverflows, on behalf Natural Medicine.

Forgive us if we're being intrusive, but @theycallemedan has a challenge on for someone to win 20K delgation for the year! If you haven't voted already, please vote for @homesteaderscoop by clicking here, as we fully support what they do in their quest for an ethical marketplace. Did you know they even have a natural health section?


20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

If you'd like to support Natural Medicine on the Steem Blockchain, please join us on Discord, or delegate by clicking any of the links above! We're all about supporting those who write about natural healing, from herbs to yoga to being part of the natural world! Come join us!

Oh thanks! I can read that easily lols

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66