You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It Really is Worth a Mint to Me...

When my sister planted the original herb garden in 1992, she put in at least 6 mint plants. None in pots or contained. The ones that survived eventually cross bred and hybridized to a bland mint, that tried to take over the garden.

I ripped it out everywhere I found it and planted new mints, in pots, widely spaced. I've tried to get chocolate mint to grow here a few times, but it apparently doesn't like being in a pot here. I also tried to grow mountain mint, but it died.

Currently I have a large bed, sort of contained behind 2 layers of garden edging (2 deep) of peppermint. I have a couple pots of spearmint, and 1 pot of catmint.

My cat will sniff the catmint if there's no catnip around. But she doesn't decimate it like she will catnip by rolling in it.

Sort:  

Interesting that the mint cross breed and turned into a bland mint. Glad you've got some new mints growing, contained in pots and separated from each other.
My cat prefers the catnip too but that keeps dying out on me where as the cat mint is more robust and keeps propagating itself - to the delight of JJ!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65809.66
ETH 2680.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.95