Nature's beauty, medicine and poison!

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

The other day I was walking with my dog on the mountain, just above the village I live, when I noticed a plethora of beautiful white flowers. I was familiar with the plant but I have never saw a spectacle like this! So I started my little research :)

_MG_8174.jpg

It's scientific name is "Urginea maritima" but it has many common names.

Drimia maritima (syn. Urginea maritima) is a species of flowering plant in the family Asparagaceae, subfamily Scilloideae (formerly the family Hyacinthaceae).[2] This species is known by several common names, including squill, sea squill, sea onion,[3] and maritime squill.[4] It may also be called red squill, particularly a form which produces red-tinged flowers instead of white.[4] It is native to southern Europe, western Asia, and northern Africa.[3]
wikipedia

_MG_8189.jpg

_MG_8274.jpg

In Crete we call it "askeletoura" but I have found 9 different Greek names for this miraculous plant! The reason that I haven't noticed it the past 5 years that I am living here, is because it doesn't blossom every year nor in the same way! As a matter of fact the farmers used to observe it, in order to predict the weather! The excessive amount of flowers that I have seen, is supposed to signify a lot of rain in the winter. I cross my fingers it really does since the past 3 years the rain here was minimum and eastern Crete is getting into a critical stage of drought.

_MG_8148.jpg

_MG_8197.jpg

_MG_8170.jpg

It is an amazing plant that flourishes out of the dry land with absolute lack of water. In fact if you water it, it won't blossom! In the popular tradition it is a good luck charm that people used to hung on their door on new-year's eve.

_MG_8294.jpg

It is also a very powerful medicine and poison that is known from the ancient years. It is mentioned in one of the oldest Egyptian medical texts dating in the 16th century bc. The ancient Greeks where using it to treat icterus, asthma and spasms. In order to take advantage of its diuretic, expectorant and laxative properties they were making a solution with vinegar while they were using the skin of the bulb to treat heart disorders.

_MG_8292.jpg

Some of the elderly are recalling using the stick of the plant, crushed and mixed with honey, to treat hard skin on feet and the bulb crushed and mixed with olive oil to treat sciatica (nerve pain in hip and leg). In both cases the mixture was used externally. It was also used to treat bronchitis and pulmonary disorders but no one could remember how. They warned me though, to be very careful with the bulb since they were using it as rat poison!

_MG_8139.jpg

_MG_8163.jpg

_MG_8238.jpg

Nowadays there are companies that use it as a healing agent at their products (soap, shampoo and lotion) against hair loss, acne and pimple. I am afraid, though, that all the old and ancient recipes for this remarkable natural medicine are gone forever.

_MG_8220.jpg

If you are familiar with that plant and you are using it in your country, please let me know in the comments, below.

_MG_8297.jpg

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.
Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

What a beautiful little flower! I love that stark white against the purple stem. Your photos with the pollen gathering bee (and the delicate butterfly) are stunning! Such a fascinating read @fotostef. It amazes me how these plants survive adverse conditions. So much healing in nature

Yes it is so comforting to see this beauty coming out of the dry scenery although most of the wild vegetation suffered severe this summer. Thyme, sage and the rest of the herbs are almost dead and they will be if it doesn't rain soon enough.
Thank you for stopping by @buckaroo!

That is sad @fotostef. I understand the crisis. We are a few years in a drought and a lot of my herbs as well as the succulents on the mountainside have died. Hoping for rain for you and us

What a gorgeous plant and an interesting post. Thanks for sharing. Your photos are gorgeous. I've never heard of it..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @riverflows!
I am glad you liked it :)

Amazing. I've never heard of this.

Have you been able to find out any more about the pharmacological properties of this flower?

Have you used it yourself for anything?

Thank you @metametheus!
This is new information for me too. It was a few days ago that I noticed the flowers and started to ask around, so I haven't tried myself. If I do or have some more info I'll make a new post about it.

wow! Beautiful photographs and very interesting story. I have never heard of this flower before, it is really lovely.

Thank you for stopping by @walkerland!
I am glad you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81